

Local Government (Wales) Act 2015

2015 anaw 6

Introductory

2 Main definitions

- (1) The following definitions have effect for the purposes of this Act.
- (2) "Merger regulations" means regulations under section 6.
- (3) "Merging authority" means—
 - (a) a principal local authority for a principal area which is to be merged into a new principal area by virtue of merger regulations, or
 - (b) (except where the context otherwise provides) a principal local authority for a principal area which is to be merged into a new principal area by virtue of provisions of a Bill introduced in the National Assembly for Wales by the Welsh Ministers or an Act of the National Assembly for Wales.
- (4) "Principal area" means a county or county borough in Wales.
- (5) "Principal local authority" means the local authority for a principal area.
- (6) "Proposed principal area" means an area specified as a new principal area—
 - (a) in an application under section 3(1) or in merger regulations, or
 - (b) in proposals published by the Welsh Ministers (whether or not in a draft Bill), in a Bill introduced in the National Assembly for Wales by the Welsh Ministers or in an Act of the National Assembly for Wales.
- (7) "Shadow authority" means—
 - (a) an authority which has been established as a shadow authority in accordance with provision included in merger regulations under section 7, or
 - (b) an authority which has been elected as a shadow authority for a new principal area specified in an Act of the National Assembly for Wales in accordance with provision made by the Act.
- (8) "Transfer date" means—

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (a) in relation to a case in which the areas of principal local authorities are (or are to be) merged into a new principal area by virtue of merger regulations, 1 April 2018;
- (b) in relation to a case in which the areas of principal local authorities are (or are to be) merged into a new principal area by virtue of an Act of the National Assembly for Wales, 1 April 2020.
- (9) "Transition committee" means a transition committee established in accordance with regulations under section 11.