SCHEDULE 1 The Scottish Legal Complaints Commission

Membership of the Commission

- 2 (1) The Commission is to consist of the following members—
 - (a) a person to chair the Commission ("the chairing member"); and
 - (b) 8 other members.
 - (2) Members are appointed by the Scottish Ministers, having consulted the Lord President of the Court of Session ("the Lord President").
 - (3) The chairing member and 4 other members of the Commission must be members (in this schedule referred to as "non-lawyer members") who are not within any of the categories mentioned in sub-paragraph (6).
 - (4) There must be 4 members of the Commission (in this schedule referred to as "lawyer members") who are within any of the categories mentioned in sub-paragraph (6).
 - (5) Of the lawyer members 3 must have practised within any, or any combination, of the categories mentioned in sub-paragraph (6) for at least 10 years.
 - (6) The categories are—
 - (a) solicitors;
 - (b) advocates;
 - (c) conveyancing practitioners or executry practitioners;
 - (d) persons exercising a right to conduct litigation or a right of audience acquired by virtue of section 27 of the 1990 Act.
 - (7) The Scottish Ministers may, subject to sub-paragraphs (8) and (9), by order amend—
 - (a) sub-paragraph (1)(b) to alter the number of other members referred to there;
 - (b) sub-paragraph (3) to alter the number of other members referred to there;
 - (c) sub-paragraph (4) to alter the number of members referred to there;
 - (d) sub-paragraph (5) to alter the number of lawyer members referred to there.
 - (8) The number of non-lawyer members must be greater than the number of lawyer members.
 - (9) The number of—
 - (a) non-lawyer members must be no fewer than 4 and no greater than 8;
 - (b) lawyer members must be no fewer than 3 and no greater than 7.