Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULE 1 THE SCOTTISH SENTENCING COUNCIL

Membership

- 1 (1) The Council consists of a chairing member, other judicial members, legal members and lay members.
 - (2) The chairing member is the Lord Justice Clerk.
 - (3) The other judicial members comprise—
 - (a) one other person holding the office of judge who normally sits as a judge of the Outer House of the Court of Session or the High Court of Justiciary,
 - (b) one person holding the office of sheriff (other than a sheriff principal),
 - (c) two persons holding the office of justice of the peace or stipendiary magistrate, and
 - (d) one other person holding—
 - (i) any of the offices mentioned in paragraphs (a) to (c), or
 - (ii) the office of sheriff principal.
 - (4) The legal members comprise—
 - (a) one prosecutor within the meaning of section 307 of the 1995 Act,
 - (b) one advocate practising as such in Scotland (other than one who is a prosecutor), and
 - (c) one solicitor practising as such in Scotland (other than one who is a prosecutor).
 - (5) The lay members comprise—
 - (a) one constable,
 - (b) one person appearing to the Scottish Ministers to have knowledge of the issues faced by victims of crime, and
 - (c) one other person who is not qualified for appointment as a judicial or legal member.