STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3143

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES WALES

The County of Powys (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998

Made - - - 23rd November 1998

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

The Secretary of State for Wales, in exercise of his powers under sections 58(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him in March 1997 under sections 58(1) and 64 of that Act(2) by the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales:

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Powys (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1998.
- (2) This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1999 except that for the purposes of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day, it shall come into force immediately.

Electoral divisions

- 2.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Powys shall be abolished and the County shall be divided into 73 electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the area specified opposite thereto in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be returned for each such electoral division shall be the number specified opposite thereto in column (3) of the Schedule to this Order.

Register of local government electors

3. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or adaptation of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

^{(1) 1972} c. 70. Section 67(5) was amended by section 40(1) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29), article 3(a) of the Government Act (References to Aldermen) Order 1977, S.I.1977/1710 and section 66(5) and (8) of, Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 15, and Schedule 18 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ Section 58(1) was amended by section 66(5) of, and Schedule 15, paragraphs 1 and 11 to, the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. Section 64 was substituted by section 6 to that Act of 1994.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Wales

Jon Owen Jones
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Welsh
Office

23rd November 1998

SCHEDULE Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral Division	Area of New Electoral Division	Number of Councillors
Aber-craf	The Aber-craf ward of the Community of Ystradgynlais	1
Banwy	The Communities of Banwy and Llanerfyl	1
Beguildy	The Communities of Beguildy, Llanbadarn Fynydd and Llanbister	1
Berriew	The Community of Berriew	1
Blaen Hafren	The Communities of Llangurig, Llanidloes Without and Trefeglwys	1
Bronllys	The Communities of Bronllys and Erwood	1
Builth	The Community of Builth	1
Bwlch	The Community of Llanfihangel Cwmdu with Bwlch and Cathedine	1
Caersws	The Communities of Caersws and Carno	1
Churchstoke	The Community of Churchstoke	1
Crickhowell	The Communities of Crickhowell and The Vale of Grwyney	1
Cwm-twrch	The Cwm-twrch ward of the Community of Ystradgynlais	1
Disserth and Trecoed	The Community of Disserth and Trecoed	1
Dolforwyn	The Communities of Bettws and Llandyssil	1
Felin-fâch	The Communities of Felinfâch, Honddu Isaf and Llanddew	1
Forden	The Community of Forden	1
Glantwymyn	The Communities of Cadfarch and Glantwymyn	1

(1) Name of New Electoral	(2) Area of New Electoral	(3) Number of Councillors
Division	Division	Transci of Councillors
Glasbury	The Communities of Clyro, Glasbury and Painscastle	1
Guilsfield	The Communities of Castle Caereinion and Guilsfield	1
Gwernyfed	The Communities of Gwernyfed and Llanigon	1
Hay	The Community of Hay	1
Kerry	The Community of Kerry	1
Knighton	The Community of Knighton	1
Llanafanfawr	The Communities of Cilmery, Duhonw, Llanafanfawr and Llanwrthwl	1
Llanbadarn Fawr	The Communities of Llanbadarn Fawr and Penybont	1
Llanbrynmair	The Community of Llanbrynmair	1
Llandinam	The Communities of Llandinam and Mochdre	1
Llandrindod East/Llandrindod West	The East and West wards of the Community of Llandrindod Wells	1
Llandrindod North	The North ward of the Community of Llandrindod Wells	1
Llandrindod South	The South No. 1 and the South No. 2 wards of the Community of Llandrindod Wells	1
Llandrinio	The Communities of Bausley with Criggion and Llandrinio	1
Llandysilio	The Communities of Carreghofa and Llandysilio	1
Llanelwedd	The Communities of Aberedw, Glascwm and Llanelwedd	1
Llanfair Caereinion	The Community of Llanfair Caereinion	1
Llanfihangel	The Communities of Llanfihangel and Llangyniew	1
Llanfyllin	The Community of Llanfyllin	1
Llangattock	The Community of Llangattock	1

(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Llangors	The Community of Llangors	1
Llangunllo	The Communities of Llanddewi Ystradenny, Llanfihangel Rhydithon, Llangunllo and Whitton	1
Llangynidr	The Community of Llangynidr	1
Llanidloes	The Community of Llanidloes	1
Llanrhaeadr-ym Mochnant	The Communities of Llangynog, Llanrhaeadr- ym-Mochnant (in the former District of Montgomeryshire), Llanwddyn and Pen-y-Bont Fawr	1
Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant/ Llansilin	The Communities of Llangedwyn, Llanrhaeadr- ym-Mochnant (in the former District of Glyndŵr) and Llansilin	1
Llansantffraid	The Communities of Llanfechain and Llansantffraid	1
Llanwrtyd Wells	The Communities of Llangamarch, Llanwrtyd Wells and Treflys	1
Llanyre	The Community of Llanyre	1
Machynlleth	The Community of Machynlleth	1
Maescar/Llywel	The Communities of Cray, Llywel and Maescar	1
Meifod	The Community of Meifod	1
Montgomery	The Community of Montgomery	1
Nantmel	The Communities of Abbey Cwmhir, Nantmel and St. Harmon	1
Newtown Central	The Newtown Central ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Newtown East	The Newtown East ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1

(1)	(2)	(2)
(1) Name of New Electoral Division	(2) Area of New Electoral Division	(3) Number of Councillors
Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North	The Llanllwchaiarn North ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West	The Llanllwchaiarn West ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Newtown South	The Newtown South ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Old Radnor	The Communities of Gladestry, New Radnor and Old Radnor	1
Presteigne	The Community of Presteigne	1
Rhayader	The Community of Rhayader	1
Rhiwcynon	The Communities of Aberhafesp, Dwyriw, Manafon and Tregynon	1
St. David Within	The St. David Within ward of the Community of Brecon	1
St. John	The St. John ward of the Community of Brecon	1
St. Mary	The St. Mary ward of the Community of Brecon	1
Talgarth	The Community of Talgarth	1
Talybont-on-Usk	The Communities of Glyn Tarell, Llanfrynach and Talybont-on-Usk	1
Tawe-Uchaf	The Communities of Tawe- Uchaf and Ystradfellte	1
Trewern	The Community of Trewern	1
Welshpool Castle	The Castle ward of the Community of Welshpool	1
Welshpool Gungrog	The Gungrog ward of the Community of Welshpool	1
Welshpool Llanerchyddol	The Llanerchyddol ward of the Community of Welshpool	1
Ynyscedwyn	The Ynyscedwyn ward of the Community of Ystradgynlais	1
Yscir	The Communities of Merthyr Cynog, Trallong and Yscir	1

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of New Electoral	Area of New Electoral	Number of Councillors
Division	Division	
Ystradgynlais	The Ystradgynlais ward of the Community of Ystradgynlais	1