#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 2001 No. 4055

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The City of Brighton and Hove (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - 20th December 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated August 2001 on its review of the city(2) of Brighton and Hove together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(3) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

#### Citation, commencement and interpretation

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the City of Brighton and Hove (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.
  - (2) This Order shall come into force—
    - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 15th October 2002;
    - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
  - (3) In this Order—

"city" means the city of Brighton and Hove;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to "the map" is a reference to the map prepared by the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions marked "Map of the City of Brighton and Hove (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(4).

<sup>(1) 1992</sup> c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Brighton and Hove has the status of a city.

<sup>(3)</sup> Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

#### Wards of the city of Brighton and Hove

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the city(**5**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The city shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (2) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Elections of the council of the city of Brighton and Hove

- **3.**—(1) The ordinary elections of all councillors of the city of Brighton and Hove shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 2003(6) and every fourth year after 2003.
- (2) The term of office of councillors shall be four years; and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly-elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

#### Revocation

**4.** The Borough of Brighton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980, the Borough of Hove (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 and article 11 of the East Sussex (Boroughs of Brighton and Hove) (Structural Change) Order 1995 are hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions

Alan Whitehead
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Transport, Local Government
and the Regions

20th December 2001

<sup>(5)</sup> See the Borough of Brighton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I. 1980/196) and The Borough of Hove (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 (S.I. 1978/753) as amended by the East Sussex (Boroughs of Brighton and Hove) (Structural Change) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/1770).

<sup>(6)</sup> For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29).

# SCHEDULE Article 2

#### NAMES OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Brunswick and Adelaide	2	
Central Hove	2	
East Brighton	3	
Goldsmid	3	
Hangleton and Knoll	3	
Hanover and Elm Grove	3	
Hollingbury and Stanmer	3	
Moulsecoomb and Bevendean	3	
North Portslade	2	
Patcham	3	
Preston Park	3	
Queen's Park	3	
Regency	2	
Rottingdean Coastal	3	
St. Peter's and North Laine	3	
South Portslade	2	
Stanford	2	
Westbourne	2	
Wish	2	
Withdean	3	
Woodingdean	2	

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the city of Brighton and Hove. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the city and provides for the creation of 21 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and numbers of councillors for the new wards.

Article 3 provides for the election of all councillors of the city of Brighton and Hove to take place in 2003 and every 4 years after that year.

Article 4 revokes the Borough of Brighton (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980, the Borough of Hove (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978 and article 11 of the East Sussex (Boroughs of Brighton and Hove) (Structural Change) Order 1995.

The areas of the new city wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Brighton and Hove Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.