SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 5

Section 198(3).

THE HISTORIC BUILDINGS COUNCIL

- 1. The Historic Buildings Council (in this Schedule referred to as "the Council") shall consist of a Chair appointed by the Minister and such number of other members so appointed as the Minister may determine.
- **2.** A member of the Council shall hold office for a maximum period of 3 years but shall be eligible for re-appointment.
- **3.** The Department may pay to the Chair and members of the Council allowances for travelling and other out-of-pocket expenses incurred in connection with the business of the Council at such rates as the Department, with the approval of the Department of Finance and Personnel, may determine.
- **4.**—(1) The Council shall, subject to sub-paragraph (4), appoint such committees as the Department may determine.
- (2) A committee appointed under this paragraph may include persons who are not members of the Council.
- (3) Every member of a committee appointed under this paragraph, who, at the time of his or her appointment, was a member of the Council shall, if he or she ceases to be a member of the Council, also cease to be a member of the committee.
- (4) The Department may, by regulations or direction, make provision with respect to the appointment, constitution or functions of committees appointed under this paragraph.
- **5.** The Council may regulate its own quorum and procedure and that of its committees which shall be subject to the approval of the Department.
- **6.** The Council must, at such times and in respect of such periods as the Department may direct, prepare and submit to the Department a report on its activities and the Department shall lay a copy of every such report before the Assembly.
- 7. The secretary to the Council shall be such person as the Department may appoint.