

Clergy Discipline Measure 2003

2003 No. 3

Composition of tribunal and Vicar-General's court

22 Disciplinary tribunals

- (1) A disciplinary tribunal shall consist of five members as follows—
 - (a) the chairman, who shall be the president of tribunals or such other person as he may appoint as chairman from those nominated under section 21(2)(c) above to serve on the relevant provincial panel;
 - (b) two lay persons appointed by the president of tribunals from those nominated under section 21(2)(a) or (3)(a) above otherwise than by the bishop of the diocese concerned to serve on the relevant provincial panel; and
 - (c) two persons in Holy Orders appointed by the president of tribunals from those nominated under section 21(2)(b) or (3)(b) above otherwise than by the bishop of the diocese concerned to serve on the relevant provincial panel.
- (2) The president of tribunals shall not appoint any person to be a member of a disciplinary tribunal unless he is satisfied that there is no reason to question the impartiality of that person, and before doing so he shall afford an opportunity to the respondent to make representations as to the suitability of that person to be appointed.

Commencement Information

I1 S. 22 in force at 1.1.2006 by S.I. 2005/6, Instrument made by Archbishops

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Clergy Discipline Measure 2003, Section 22.