EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order abolishes the existing 71 electoral divisions of the county of Cornwall and provides for the creation of 123 new electoral divisions. One councillor is to be elected for each electoral division. Article 3 and the Schedule make provision for the names and areas of the new electoral divisions. The new arrangements are based on draft recommendations published on 2nd December 2008 by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission. Those recommendations may be viewed at http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/boundary-reviews/all-reviews/south-west/cornwall/cornwall-electoral-review

The areas of the new electoral divisions are shown on the sheets described in article 2(2). Where a numbered map is referred to in column (2) of the Schedule, it will be found on the sheet of the same number. Article 4 requires the Council to make the sheets available for inspection.

Article 5 requires the electoral registration officer to make any necessary amendments to electoral registers to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 6 amends the County of Cornwall (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2005 by omitting paragraphs (2) and (3) of article 1, article 3, articles 6 to 8 and the Schedule. The provisions retained relate to the warding of the parishes of Helston and Newquay (constituted by articles 4 and 5 of that Order) and the number of councillors for those parish wards.

The four-year term of office of county councillors elected in 2009 is provided for in section 6 of the Local Government Act 1972 (c.70). Section 7 of that Act determines the years in which ordinary elections of county councillors are held. After 2009, county council elections will be held in 2013 and every fourth year after that.

Prints of the sheets described in article 2(2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the Council's offices at County Hall, Truro, TR1 3AY, Dolcoath Avenue, Camborne, TR14 8SX, Luxstowe House, Liskeard, PL14 3DZ, 39 Penwinnick Road, St Austell, PL25 5DR, Carrick House, Pydar Street, Truro TR1 1EB, Higher Tenant Road, Wadebridge, PL27 6TW and St Clare, Penzance, TR18 3QW and at the Library and Information Centre, Communities and Local Government, 1/C8 Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this Order as no impact on the private or voluntary sector is foreseen.