

Administration of Justice Act 1964

1964 CHAPTER 42

PART I

GREATER LONDON

Summary jurisdiction in inner London

13 The committee of magistrates

- (1) No magistrates courts' committee shall be set up under section 16 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1949 for the inner London area, but instead a committee (to be known as the committee of magistrates) shall be set up for that area in accordance with the following provisions of this section with such functions in relation to—
 - (a) the division of that area into petty sessional divisions,
 - (b) the employment of clerks and other officers,
 - (c) the division of work between the metropolitan stipendiary magistrates and lay justices,
 - (d) the provision of courses of instruction for justices, and
 - (e) other matters of a financial or administrative character,

as are or may be provided by or under this Act or as the committee may be authorised to undertake by the Secretary of State.

- (2) The custos rotulorum for the inner London area, the chairman of the court of quarter sessions for that area and the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate shall each, by virtue of his office, be a member of the committee of magistrates.
- (3) The committee of magistrates shall in addition to the members mentioned in subsection (2) of this section consist of the following members:—
 - (a) one lay justice chosen from amongst themselves by the lay justices for each petty sessional division ;
 - (b) three members of the juvenile court panel for the inner London area and the City, chosen jointly by the members of that panel and by any chairmen of juvenile courts for that area and the City who are not members of that panel;

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (c) such number of metropolitan stipendiary magistrates nominated by the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate as is equal to the total number of members required to be chosen under paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection.
- (4) The members of the committee of magistrates who are chosen or nominated under subsection (3) of this section shall hold office as such for the period of one year beginning on such date as the Secretary of State may direct, but may again be chosen or nominated as members of the committee.
- (5) There shall be a chairman, a vice-chairman and a deputy chairman of the committee of magistrates, and the chairman of the court of quarter sessions for the inner London area shall be the chairman of the committee, the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate shall be the vice-chairman and a person chosen from amongst themselves by the lay justices who are members of the committee shall be the deputy chairman.
- (6) The chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate shall, subject to and in accordance with any directions given by the committee of magistrates, carry on the day to day administration of the magistrates' courts in the inner London area (including domestic courts and including juvenile courts for that area and the City).
- (7) Paragraphs 7 to 11 of Schedule 4 to the Justices of the Peace Act 1949 (which relate to the proceedings of a magistrates' courts committee), except so much of paragraph 9 of that Schedule as relates to the chairman of such a committee, shall apply to the committee of magistrates as it applies to a magistrates' courts committee.