

Supreme Court Act 1981

1981 CHAPTER 54

PART I

CONSTITUTION OF SUPREME COURT

The Court of Appeal

3 Divisions of Court of Appeal

- (1) There shall be two divisions of the Court of Appeal, namely the criminal division and the civil division.
- (2) The Lord Chief Justice shall be president of the criminal division of the Court of Appeal, and the Master of the Rolls shall be president of the civil division of that court.
- (3) The Lord Chancellor may appoint one of the ordinary judges of the Court of Appeal as vice-president of both divisions of that court, or one of those judges as vice-president of the criminal division and another of them as vice-president of the civil division.
- (4) When sitting in a court of either division of the Court of Appeal in which no ex-officio judge of the Court of Appeal is sitting, the vice-president (if any) of that division shall preside.
- (5) Any number of courts of either division of the Court of Appeal may sit at the same time.