

Justices of the Peace Act 1997

1997 CHAPTER 25

PART I

COMMISSIONS OF THE PEACE AND PETTY SESSIONS AREAS

1 Commission areas

- (1) There shall in England be a commission of the peace for each of the following areas—
 - (a) every metropolitan county;
 - (b) every retained county;
 - (c) every London commission area; and
 - (d) the City of London.
- (2) There shall in Wales be a commission of the peace for each of the following areas—
 - (a) every commission area specified in Schedule 1 to this Act; and
 - (b) every retained county no part of which falls within a commission area so specified.
- (3) In this Act "commission area" means an area for which there is a commission of the peace.