Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULE

CONSTITUTION AND PROCEEDINGS OF BOARD

The Board shall consist of thirty-four members, of whom twelve shall be ex-officio members, seventeen shall be appointed as hereinafter provided, and five, being persons of eminence in literature or public life, not otherwise members of the Board, shall be co-opted by the Trustees.

The ex-officio members shall consist of the following persons:—

The Lord President of the Court of Session:

The Lord Advocate:

The Secretary for Scotland;

The Dean of the Faculty of Advocates;

The Minister of the High Kirk (St. Giles), Edinburgh;

The Member of Parliament for the Central Division of the City of Edinburgh;

The Lord Provost of Edinburgh;

The Lord Provost of Glasgow;

The Lord Provost of Dundee;

The Lord Provost of Aberdeen;

The Lord Provost of Perth;

The King's and Lord Treasurer's Remembrancer.

Of the appointed members:—

Five shall be persons appointed by His Majesty on the recommendation of the Secretary for Scotland, one of whom at least shall be representative of organised labour;

Five shall be persons appointed by the Faculty;

Seven shall be persons appointed as follows, that is to say:—

One by the Senatus Academicus of each of the Universities of St. Andrews, Glasgow, Aberdeen, and Edinburgh, one by the Convention of Royal Burghs, one by the Association of County Councils in Scotland, and one by the Association of Education Authorities in Scotland.

In addition to the thirty-four Trustees before-mentioned, Sir Alexander Grant, Baronet, or a person to be nominated by him, shall be a member during the lifetime of the said Sir Alexander Grant.