

Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919

1919 CHAPTER 76 9 and 10 Geo 5

2 Establishment of an Ecclesiastical Committee.

- (1) There shall be a Committee of members of both Houses of Parliament styled "The Ecclesiastical Committee."
- (2) The Ecclesiastical Committee shall consist of fifteen members of the House of Lords, nominated by [F1 the Speaker of the House of Lords] and fifteen members of the House of Commons nominated by the Speaker of the House of Commons, to be appointed on the passing of this Act to serve for the duration of the present Parliament and thereafter to be appointed at the commencement of each Parliament to serve for the duration of that Parliament.
 - Any casual vacancy occurring by the reason of the death, resignation, or incapacity of a member of the Ecclesiastical Committee shall be filled by the nomination of a member by [FI the Speaker of the House of Lords] or the Speaker of the House of Commons, as the case may be.
- (3) The powers and duties of the Ecclesiastical Committee may be exercised and discharged by any twelve members thereof, and the Committee shall be entitled to sit and to transact business whether Parliament be sitting or not, and notwithstanding a vacancy in the membership of the Committee. Subject to the provisions of this Act, the Ecclesiastical Committee may regulate its own procedure.

Textual Amendments

F1 Words in s. 2(2) substituted (24.3.2005) by Constitutional Reform Act 2005 (c. 4), s. 148(2), **Sch. 6** para. 3

Changes to legislation:

There are currently no known outstanding effects for the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919, Section 2.