1976 No. 1547

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Blackburn (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976

Made - - - 17th September 1976

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 4th February 1976 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Blackburn:

Now, therefore, I, the Right Honourable Merlyn Rees, one of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, do hereby make the following Order:--

1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Blackburn (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1976.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.

3.—(1) The Interpretation Act 1889 (b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.

(2) The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF BLACKBURN (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1976" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

4. The existing wards of the Borough of Blackburn shall be abolished and the said borough shall be divided into twenty-one wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be the number specified in column 2 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

7.--(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.

(2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE BOROUGH OF BLACKBURN (ELECTORAL ARRANGE-MENTS) ORDER 1976", shall be deposited with the council of the Borough of Blackburn and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.

8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below the election of councillors shall be by thirds.

9.—(1) The whole number of councillors shall be elected at the ordinary elections of councillors in 1979.

(2) Of the councillors elected in 1979 for any ward of the borough, other than North Turton and Whitehall—

- (a) one-third shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (4) and (5) below, the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes;
- (b) one-third shall retire in 1982 being, subject as aforesaid, the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes;
- (c) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1983.

(3) Of the councillors elected in 1979 for the Whitehall ward of the borough—

- (a) one councillor shall retire in 1980 being, subject to paragraphs (4) and (5) below, the councillor elected by the smaller number of votes, and
- (b) the remaining councillor shall retire in 1982.

(4) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any such year, the person to retire in that year shall be determined by lot.

(5) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each such year shall be determined by lot.

(6) Where under this Article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot shall be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen, and the drawing shall be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

(7) The councillor elected in 1979 for the North Turton ward of the borough shall retire in 1983.

(8) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this Article the term of office of councillors shall be four years, and all councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors for the borough in the year of retirement and the newly elected councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.

Merlyn Rees,

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall. 17th September 1976.

Articles 4 and 6.

SCHEDULE

1 Name of New Ward						2 Number of Councillors
Bank Top		••		••		3
Billinge	••	••	••	••		3
Brookhouse	••	••	••	••		3
Brownhill	••	••	••	••		3
Cathedral	••	••	••	••		3
Earcroft	••	••	••	••		3
Ewood	••	••	••	••		3
Green Bank	••	••	••	••		3
Higher Croft	••	••	••	••		3
Marsh House	••	••	••	••		3
Mill Hill	••	••	••	••		3
Moorgate	••	••	••	••		3
North Turton	••	••	••	••		1
Pleckgate	••	••	••	••	••	3
Queen's Park	••	••	••	••		3
Revidge	••	••	••	••		3
Shadsworth	••	••	••	••		3
udell	••	••	••	••		3
lunnyhurst	••	••	••	••		3
Vest Rural	••	••	••	••		3
Whitehall	••	••	••	••		2

NAMES OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

Printed in England by Bemrose & Sons Ltd., and published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office. 17/8147 0.72 K10 9/76 12p. net ISBN 0 11 061547 6