STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1977 No. 2145

EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

The European Communities (Definition of Treaties) (No. 4) Order 1977

Laid before Parliament in draft

Made - - - - 21st December 1977

Coming into Operation in accordance with Article 1

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 21st day of December 1977

Present.

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Whereas a draft of this Order has been laid before Parliament in accordance with section 1 of the European Communities Act 1972 and has been approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament:

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 1(3) of the European Communities Act 1972 or otherwise in Her Majesty vested, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the European Communities (Definition of Treaties) (No. 4) Order 1977. It shall come into operation in respect of each treaty specified in the Schedule to this Order on the date on which the treaty enters into force for the United Kingdom. These dates will be notified in the London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes.
- **2.** The Interpretation Act 1889 shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- **3.** The treaties specified in the Schedule to this Order are to be regarded as Community Treaties as defined in section 1(2) of the European Communities Act 1972.

N. E. Leigh Clerk of the Privy Council

SCHEDULE

- 1. Co-operation Agreement between the European Economic Community and the Republic of Tunisia, signed at Tunis on 25 April 1976 (Cmnd. 6894).
- **2.** Co-operation Agreement between the European Economic Community and the Kingdom of Morocco, signed at Rabat on 27 April 1976 (Cmnd. 6920).
- **3.** Co-operation Agreement between the European Economic Community and the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, signed at Algiers on 26 April 1976 (Cmnd. 6938).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

This Order declares the treaties mentioned in the Schedule to be Community Treaties as defined in section 1(2) of the European Communities Act 1972.