1978 No. 1370

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Carrick (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978

Made - - - 15th September 1978
Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 12th January 1978 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Carrick:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Carrick (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 3rd May 1979 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1978.
- 3. The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this Order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 4.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Carrick shall be abolished and the said district shall be divided into twenty wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the said Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 5. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Carrick shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1979 and every fourth year thereafter.

Merlyn Rees,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 15th September 1978.

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1		2	3
Name of New Ward		Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Arwenack	••	The Arwenack ward of the parish of Falmouth	2
Boscawen	••	The Boscawen ward of the parish of Truro	3
Chacewater	••	The parish of Chacewater	1
Feock		The parish of Feock	2
Kea		The parish of Kea	1
Kenwyn		The parish of Kenwyn	2
Moresk	••	The Moresk ward of the parish of Truro	2
Mylor	••	The parishes of Gwennap, Mylor and Perranarworthal	3
Newlyn	••	The parishes of Cubert and Newlyn	1
Penryn	••	The parish of Penryn	3
Penwerris	••	The Penwerris ward of the parish of Falmouth	3
Perranzabuloe	••	The parish of Perranzabuloe	3
Probus		The parishes of Cuby, Ladock, Probus, Ruanlanihorne and Tregoney	2
Roseland	••	The parishes of Gerrans, Philleigh, St. Just-in-Roseland and Veryan	2
St. Agnes	••	The parish of St. Agnes	3
St. Clement	••	The parishes of St. Allen, St. Clement, St. Erme and St. Michael Penkevil	1
Smithick	••	The Smithick ward of the parish of Falmouth	3
Tregolls	••	The Tregolls ward of the parish of Truro	2
Trehaverne	••	The Trehaverne ward of the parish of Truro	3
Trevethan	••	The Trevethan ward of the parish of Falmouth	3