STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1980 No. 1054

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The City of Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980

Made - - - - 22nd July 1980

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 15th October 1979 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the City of Newcastle upon Tyne:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980.

2. This Order shall come into operation on 6th May 1982 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1981.

3. The map referred to in this Order is the map marked "MAP RE-FERRED TO IN THE CITY OF NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE (ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS) ORDER 1980" and deposited with the Secretary of State.

4. The existing wards of the City of Newcastle upon Tyne shall be abolished and the said city shall be divided into twenty-six wards which shall bear the names set out in Schedule 1 to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by blue lines thereon.

5. Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, waterway or other similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line thereof.

6. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward constituted by this Order shall be three.

7.—(1) The wards constituted by this Order shall have the internal boundaries thereof mered by Ordnance Survey.

(2) Copies of the map, marked "COPY OF THE MAP REFERRED TO IN THE CITY OF NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE (ELECTORAL AR-RANGEMENTS) ORDER 1980", shall be deposited with the council of the City of Newcastle upon Tyne and with the Director General of the Ordnance Survey and such copies shall at all reasonable times be open to inspection by any person.

8. Subject to the provisions of Article 9 below, the election of councillors shall be by thirds.

9.—(1) The councillors who immediately before the coming into operation of this Order represent a ward specified in column 1 of Schedule 2 to this Order shall represent the ward specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.

(2) Any casual vacancy existing immediately before the coming into operation of this Order in the representation of a ward specified in column 1 of Schedule 2 to this Order shall be deemed to exist in the representation of the ward specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule.

> W.S.I. Whitelaw, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 22nd July 1980.

Names	of	New	Wards
140000	UI.	14044	** 41 U G

Benwell	Lemington
Blakelaw	Monkchester
Byker	Moorside
Castle	Newburn
Dene	Sandyford
Denton	Scotswood
Elswick	South Gosforth
Fawdon	Walker
Fenham	Walkergate
Grange	West City
Heaton	Westerhope
Jesmond	Wingrove
Kenton	Woolsington

SCHEDULE 2 Article 9(1) and (2).

ASSIGNMENT TO NEW WARDS OF COUNCILLORS FOR EXISTING WARDS

1 Name of Existing Ward	2 Name of New Ward
Benwell	Benwell
Blakelaw	Blakelaw
Castle Ward No.1	Castle
Castle Ward No.2	Woolsington
Dene	Dene
East City	Byker
Elswick	Elswick
Fawdon	Fawdon
Fenham	Fenham
Gosforth No.1	South Gosforth
Gosforth No.2	Grange
Heaton	Heaton
Jesmond	Jesmond
Kenton	Kenton
Moorside	Moorside
Newburn No.1 (Denton)	Denton
Newburn No.2	Newburn
Newburn No.3 (Westerhope)	Westerhope
St. Anthony's	Lemington
St. Lawrence	Monkchester
Sandyford	Sandyford
Scotswood	Scotswood
Walker	Walker
Walkergate	Walkergate
West City	West City
Wingrove	Wingrove