STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1988 No. 1825

LAND REGISTRATION, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1988

Made - - - - 19th October 1988

Coming into force - - 1st April 1989

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 132 of the Land Registration Act 1925(1), and with the concurrence of the Treasury, hereby makes the following Order:—

Title, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) (No. 2) Order 1987(2), may be cited as the Land Registration (District Registries) Order 1988 and shall come into force on 1st April 1989.
 - (2) In this Order, unless the context otherwise requires—
 - "the Act" means the Land Registration Act 1925;
 - "district registry" means a district registry of the Land Registry within the meaning of section 132 of the Act;
 - "the Schedule" means the Schedule to this Order.

District Registries

- (a) 2. (1) (a) There shall continue to be district registries bearing the names and at the places specified in column 1 in Part I of the Schedule.
- (b) On and after the date specified in column 1 in Part II of the Schedule there shall be a new district registry bearing the name and at the place specified in that column.
- (2) Each district registry shall be the proper office for the purposes of the registration of titles to land wholly or partly in its district, which shall comprise the administrative areas specified opposite its name in columns 2 and 3 in both Parts of the Schedule:

Provided that—

^{(1) 1925} c. 21.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1987/2213.

- (a) the county of Surrey shall not form part of the district of the Durham District Land Registry before 1st May 1989 and shall not form part of the district of the Tunbridge Wells District Land Registry on or after that date;
- (b) the London Borough of Ealing shall not form part of the district of the Swansea District Land Registry before 1st June 1989 and shall not form part of the district of the Harrow District Land Registry on or after that date;
- (c) the county of Humberside shall not form part of the district of the Kingston upon Hull District Land Registry before 1st October 1989 and shall not form part of the district of the Durham District Land Registry on or after that date;

and the provisions of the Schedule shall be construed accordingly.

Dated 28th September 1988

Mackay of Clashfern, C.

We concur,

David Lightbown
Anthony Durrant
Two of the Lords Commissioners of Her
Majesty's Treasury

Dated 19th October 1988

SCHEDULE

PART I CONTINUING DISTRICT REGISTRIES

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (includingthe City and the Temples)
The Birkenhead District Land Registry at Birkenhead	Cheshire	
	Merseyside	
	Staffordshire	
The Coventry District Land Registry at Coventry	West Midlands	
The Croydon District Land		Bexley
Registry at Croydon		Bromley
		Croydon
		Sutton
The Durham District Land Registry at Durham	Cleveland	
	Cumbria	
	Durham	
	Northumberland	
	North Yorkshire	
	Tyne and Wear	
	Humberside (only before 1st October 1989)	
	Surrey (on and after 1st May 1989)	
The Gloucester District Land Registry at Gloucester	Berkshire	
	Gloucestershire	
	Oxfordshire	
	Warwickshire	
	Wiltshire	
The Harrow District Land Registry at Harrow on the Hill		The City of London
		The Inner Temple and the Middle Temple
		Barnet
		Brent

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (includingthe City and the Temples)
		Camden
		City of Westminster
		Hammersmith and Fulham
		Harrow
		Islington
		Kensington and Chelsea
		Ealing (only before 1st June 1989)
The Kingston upon Hull	Lincolnshire	
District Land Registry at Kingston upon Hull	Norfolk	
Kingston upon Hull	Suffolk	
	Humberside (on and after 1st October 1989)	
The Lytham District Land	Greater Manchester	
Registry at Lytham St. Annes	Lancashire	
The Nottingham District Land	Derbyshire	
Registry at Nottingham	Leicestershire	
	Nottinghamshire	
	South Yorkshire	
	West Yorkshire	
The Peterborough District	Bedfordshire	
Land Registry at Peterborough	Cambridgeshire	
	Essex	
	Northamptonshire	
The Plymouth District Land	Avon	
Registry at Plymouth	Cornwall	
	Devon	
	Isles of Scilly	
	Somerset	
The Stevenage District Land	Hertfordshire	Barking and Dagenham
Registry at Stevenage	Buckinghamshire (only before 1st December 1989)	Enfield
		Hackney
		Haringey

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	(3)
District Registry	Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	London Boroughs (includingthe City and the Temples)
		Havering
		Newham
		Redbridge
		Tower Hamlets
		Waltham Forest
The Swansea District Land Registry at Swansea	Hereford and Worcester	Hillingdon
	All counties in Wales	Hounslow
		Ealing (on and after 1st June 1989)
The Telford District Land Registry at Telford	Shropshire	Greenwich
		Kingston upon Thames
		Lambeth
		Lewisham
		Merton
		Richmond upon Thames
		Southwark
		Wandsworth
The Tunbridge Wells District Land Registry at Tunbridge Wells	East Sussex	
	Kent	
	Surrey (only before 1st May 1989)	
The Weymouth District Land	Dorset	
Registry at Weymouth	Hampshire	
	Isle of Wight	
	West Sussex	

PART II NEW DISTRICT REGISTRY

(1) District Registry	(2) Counties (including the Isles of Scilly)	(3) London Boroughs (includingthe City and the Temples)
The Leicester District Land Registry at Leicester (on and after 1st December 1989)	Buckinghamshire	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, which supersedes the Land Registration (District Registries) (No. 2) Order 1987, constitutes a new district land registry at Leicester. The Order also transfers responsibility for the registration of titles:—

- (a) in the London Boroughs of Kingston upon Thames, Merton and Richmond upon Thames from the Croydon to the Telford District Land Registry as from 1st April 1989;
- (b) in the county of Surrey from the Tunbridge Wells to the Durham District Land Registry as from 1st May 1989;
- (c) in the London Borough of Ealing from the Harrow to the Swansea District Land Registry as from 1st June 1989;
- (d) in the county of Humberside from the Durham to the Kingston upon Hull District Land Registry as from 1st October 1989;
- (e) in the county of Buckinghamshire from the Stevenage to the Leicester District Land Registry as from 1st December 1989.

The areas of the remaining district registries at Birkenhead, Coventry, Gloucester, Lytham, Nottingham, Peterborough, Plymouth and Weymouth are unchanged.