STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 1213

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES CHANGES IN LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS

The Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989

Made	14th July 1989
Laid before Parliament	24th July 1989
Coming into force	
for the purposes referred to in article 1(2)	14th August 1989
for all other purposes	lst April 1990

The Secretary of State, in exercise of his powers under sections 51(2) and 67(4) of the Local Government Act 1972(1) and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order which gives effect to proposals submitted to him under sections 47, 48(1) and 51(1) of that Act, more than six weeks before the making of this Order, by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order 1989.

(2) This Order shall come into force on 14th August 1989 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(**2**).

(3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1990.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "boundary map" means one of the 4 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire (County Boundaries) Order

^{(1) 1972} c. 70.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247.

1989", duly numbered for reference, and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976.

Transfers from Wiltshire to Berkshire

3.—(1) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of Kennet and the parish of Shalbourne marked A9 on boundary map 3 shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Berkshire and the Hungerford electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Newbury and the Hungerford ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Hungerford;
- (d) the West Berkshire petty sessional division;
- (e) the West Berkshire Coroner's district.

(2) The parts of the county of Wiltshire, the district of Kennet and the parish of Baydon marked A1 and A3 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Berkshire and the Lambourn Valley electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Newbury and the Lambourn Valley ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Lambourn;
- (d) the West Berkshire petty sessional division;
- (e) the West Berkshire Coroner's district.

(3) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of Kennet and the parish of Ramsbury marked A5 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Berkshire and the Lambourn Valley electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Newbury and the Lambourn Valley ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Lambourn;
- (d) the West Berkshire petty sessional division;
- (e) the West Berkshire Coroner's district.

Transfers from Wiltshire to Dorset

4.—(1) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of Salisbury and the parish of Sedgehill and Semley marked A7 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Dorset and the Shaftesbury electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of North Dorset and the Motcombe ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Motcombe and the Village ward of that parish;
- (d) the Shaftesbury petty sessional division;
- (e) the Dorset (Western) Coroner's district.

(2) The part of the county of Wiltshire, the district of Salisbury and the parish of Donhead St Mary marked A11 on boundary map 4 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Dorset and the Shaftesbury electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of North Dorset and the Shaftesbury Grosvenor ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Shaftesbury and the Grosvenor ward of that parish;
- (d) the Shaftesbury petty sessional division;
- (e) the Dorset (Western) Coroner's district.

Transfers from Berkshire to Wiltshire

5.—(1) The part of the county of Berkshire, the district of Newbury and the parish of Lambourn marked A2 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Aldbourne and Ramsbury electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Kennet and the Aldbourne ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Baydon;
- (d) the Marlborough petty sessional division;
- (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

(2) The part of the county of Berkshire, the district of Newbury and the parish of Lambourn marked A4 on boundary map 1 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Aldbourne and Ramsbury electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Kennet and the Ramsbury ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Ramsbury;
- (d) the Marlborough petty sessional division;
- (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

(3) The parts of the county of Berkshire, the district of Newbury and the parish of Hungerford marked A8 and A10 on boundary map 3 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Bedwyn electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Kennet and the Shalbourne ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Shalbourne;
- (d) the Marlborough petty sessional division;
- (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

Transfers from Dorset to Wiltshire

6.—(1) The part of the county of Dorset, the district of North Dorset and the parish of Shaftesbury marked A12 on boundary map 4 shall be transferred to–

- (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Tisbury electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Salisbury and the Donhead ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Donhead St Mary;
- (d) the Tisbury and Mere petty sessional division;
- (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

(2) The part of the county of Dorset, the district of North Dorset and the parish of Motcombe marked A6 on boundary map 2 shall be transferred to-

- (a) the county of Wiltshire and the Mere electoral division of that county;
- (b) the district of Salisbury and the Knoyle ward of that district;
- (c) the parish of Sedgehill and Semley;
- (d) the Tisbury and Mere petty sessional division;
- (e) the Wiltshire Coroner's district.

Town and country planning

7. Any provisions of a structure plan, an old development plan (within the meaning of paragraph 2 of Schedule 7 to the Town and Country Planning Act 1971(3)) or a local plan made or adopted by a county or district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1990 to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan made or adopted by the council of the county or district to which that area is transferred.

Signed by Authority of the Secretary of State

Virginia Bottomley Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Department of the Environment

14th July 1989

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers areas between the counties of Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire. Consequential changes to districts, parishes and local government electoral areas are made.

The map forming part of this note (page 4) gives a general guide to the areas affected. Prints of the detailed boundary maps (described in article 2) may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the district councils whose areas are affected by this order, and at the office of the Secretary of State for the Environment, 2 Marsham Street, London SW1P 3EB.

The areas transferred will have approximately the area and population shown below-

	Area (hectares)	Population
Wiltshire to Berkshire	31,835	2
Wiltshire to Dorset	6,141	_
Berkshire to Wiltshire	18,277	_
Dorset to Wiltshire	252	_

The Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976 (S.I.1976/246, amended by S.I. 1978/247) contain general provisions regarding the effect of orders such as this one.