STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1991 No. 379

The Oxfordshire (District Boundaries) Order 1991

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Oxfordshire (District Boundaries) Order 1991.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 25th March 1991 for any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) (coming into operation of order) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(1).
 - (3) For all other purposes this Order shall come into force on 1st April 1991.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"boundary map" means one of the 4 maps prepared by the Department of the Environment, marked "Maps of the Oxfordshire (District Boundaries) Order 1991" duly numbered for reference and deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976;

"electoral division" means an electoral division of the county of Oxfordshire;

"ward", unless the context otherwise requires, means a ward of the City of Oxford.

Transfers to City of Oxford

- **3.**—(1) The area or areas marked on a boundary map as shown in column 1 of Schedule 1 to this Order and forming part of the district and parish specified in relation thereto in columns 2 and 3, respectively, shall cease to form part of a parish and shall be transferred to—
 - (a) the City of Oxford;
 - (b) the ward and electoral division (if any) specified in relation to the area or areas in question in columns 4 and 5 respectively; and
 - (c) the petty sessional division (if any) specified in relation to the area or areas in question in column 6.
- (2) The area or areas of the district of South Oxfordshire marked on a boundary map as shown in column 1 of Schedule 2 hereto and forming part of the parish specified in relation thereto in column 2 shall be transferred to—
 - (a) the City of Oxford; and
 - (b) the ward, electoral division and petty sessional division (if any) specified in relation to the area or areas in question in columns 3, 4 and 5, respectively.

Transfers from City of Oxford

4. The area or areas of the City of Oxford marked on a boundary map as shown in column 1 of Schedule 3 hereto shall be transferred to the district, ward of that district, parish, electoral division

and petty sessional division (if any) specified in relation to the area or areas in question in columns 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, respectively.

Transfers between parishes

5. The area or areas of the district of South Oxfordshire marked on a boundary map as shown in column 1 of Schedule 4 hereto shall be transferred to the parish, district ward and electoral division specified in relation to the area or areas in question in columns 2, 3 and 4, respectively.

Consequential electoral changes in South Oxfordshire

- **6.**—(1) The Littlemore, Marston and Risinghurst wards of the district of South Oxfordshire shall be abolished and the district councillors representing those wards shall retire on 1st April 1991.
- (2) There shall be created in the district of South Oxfordshire a new district ward, to be known as Horspath, which shall consist of the area of the parish of Horspath.
- (3) From 1st April 1991 until 6th May 1991 the Horspath district ward shall be represented by the persons representing the Risinghurst ward of the district of South Oxfordshire immediately before 1st April 1991; and thereafter it shall be represented by 1 district councillor.

Consequential electoral changes in Oxford

- 7.—(1) In the City of Oxford there shall be created—
 - (a) a new ward, to be known as Littlemore, which shall consist of the areas marked A5 and P3 to P9 on boundary map 3; and
 - (b) a new ward, to be known as Old Marston and Risinghurst, which shall consist of the areas marked P1 and B6A on boundary map 2 and the areas marked A6, A7 and P10 on boundary map 4.
- (2) From 1st April 1991 until 6th May 1991—
 - (a) the Littlemore ward shall be represented by the persons representing the Littlemore ward of the district of South Oxfordshire immediately before 1st April 1991;
- (b) the Old Marston and Risinghurst ward shall be represented by the persons representing the Marston ward of the district of South Oxfordshire immediately before 1st April 1991: and thereafter each of the new wards shall be represented by 3 city councillors.

Town and country planning

8. Any provisions of a local plan adopted by a district council which apply immediately before 1st April 1991 to an area transferred by this Order shall continue to have effect in relation to that area as if they were part of such a plan adopted by the council of the district to which that area is transferred.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment

Blatch
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of the Environment

1st March 1991