STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1992 No. 3169

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Hampshire) Order 1992

Made - - - - 10th December 1992
Coming into force - - 1st January 1993

In exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 54(4) of, and paragraph 1 of Schedule 3 to, the Powers of Criminal Courts Act 1973(1), and after the consultation required by that paragraph, I hereby make the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Hampshire) Order 1992 and shall come into force on 1st January 1993.
- **2.** For that part of Schedule 2 to the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(**2**) which relates to the Hampshire Probation Area(**3**) there shall be substituted the following—

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
Isle of Wight	Hampshire	2
New Forest		3
North East Hampshire		3
North West Hampshire		3
South East Hampshire		3
South Hampshire		4
Southampton		3

2. The 5 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Hythe, Lymington, Ringwood, Romsey and Totton

^{(1) 1973} c. 62

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121.

⁽³⁾ The part relating to Hampshire is amended by S.I. 1991/1917.

and New Forest shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which 3 of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of New Forest(4).

- **3.** The 4 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Alton and Petersfield and Odiham shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which 3 of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of North East Hampshire.
- **4.** The 4 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Andover, Basingstoke and Winchester shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which 3 of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of North West Hampshire.
- **5.** The 6 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Havant and Portsmouth shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which 3 of them shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of South East Hampshire.
- **6.** The 4 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Droxford, Eastleigh, Fareham and Gosport shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of South Hampshire.
- 7. The 4 members of the Hampshire Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1993 by the justices for the petty sessions area of Southampton shall decide by agreement, or in default of agreement by lot, which 3 of them shall continue in office.

Home Office 10th December 1992 Kenneth Clarke
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of
State

⁽⁴⁾ The new petty sessions areas referred to in articles 3 to 6 were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (d) (Hampshire) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/2123).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 to take account of the reorganisation of petty sessions areas in Hampshire effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Hampshire) Order 1992 (S.I.1992/2123) which comes into force on 1st January 1993.