STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1995 No. 493

The Avon (Structural Change) Order 1995

PART III

NEW COUNTIES

Constitution of new counties

- **6.**—(1) New counties of North West Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire and the City of Bristol shall be constituted and shall comprise the district areas of North West Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire and the City of Bristol respectively.
- (2) Section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) shall not apply in relation to the counties of North West Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset, South Gloucestershire and the City of Bristol.