### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1995 No. 493

## The Avon (Structural Change) Order 1995

## PART II

## NEW AND CONTINUING DISTRICTS

#### Constitution of new districts of Bath and North East Somerset and South Gloucestershire

**3.**—(1) A new district of Bath and North East Somerset shall be constituted and shall comprise the areas of the existing Avon districts of Bath and Wansdyke.

(2) A new district of South Gloucestershire shall be constituted and shall comprise the areas of the existing Avon districts of Kingswood and Northavon.

(3) Subject to article 18, there shall be new non-metropolitan district councils for Bath and North East Somerset, and South Gloucestershire, which shall be the transferee authorities for those new district areas.

#### **District of North West Somerset**

4.—(1) The existing Avon district of Woodspring shall be renamed North West Somerset.

(2) The existing Woodspring District Council shall be renamed the North West Somerset District Council.

#### Existing local government areas

**5.**—(1) The existing county of Avon and the existing Avon districts of Bath, Wansdyke, Kingswood and Northavon shall be abolished.

(2) The Council, Bath City Council, Kingswood Borough Council, Northavon District Council and Wansdyke District Council shall be wound up and dissolved.