STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1866

The Shropshire (District of The Wrekin) (Structural Change) Order 1996

PART III

TRANSITIONAL PROVISION

Election of councillors in The Wrekin in 1997 and subsequent years

- 7.—(1) The District of The Wrekin (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1978(1) shall have effect subject to the provisions of this article.
- (2) Elections of all councillors of The Wrekin Council shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1997, 2000, 2003 and every fourth year after 2003(2).
- (3) The term of office of any councillor so elected shall be, in the case of the councillors elected in 1997 and 2000, three years and, in any other case, four years.
 - (4) On the fourth day after any such elections—
 - (a) the persons who were councillors immediately before those elections shall retire; and
 - (b) the newly elected councillors shall come into office.

Suspension of elections and retirement of councillors

- **8.**—(1) The ordinary election of councillors in 1997 for the electoral divisions of Shropshire comprised in The Wrekin(3) shall not take place; and any councillor for such a division holding office immediately before the relevant date who would, but for this paragraph, have retired on that date shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until the reorganisation date.
- (2) Section 89 of the 1972 Act (filling of casual vacancies in case of councillors) shall have effect—
 - (a) in the case of a casual vacancy occurring in the office of councillor of The Wrekin Council before the relevant date, as if the reference in subsection (3) of that section to the day on which the councillor whose office is vacant would regularly have retired were a reference to the relevant date; and
 - (b) in the case of a casual vacancy occurring in the office of councillor for any electoral division referred to in paragraph (1) above, as if that reference in that subsection were a reference to the reorganisation date.

⁽¹⁾ S.I.1978/1591.

⁽²⁾ For the ordinary day of election of councillors of local government areas, see section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), amended by section 18 of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽³⁾ The electoral divisions of the county of Shropshire are constituted by the County of Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980 (S.I. 1980/1297).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(3) The electoral divisions of Shropshire comprised in The Wrekin shall cease to be electoral divisions on the reorganisation date.