STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1867

The Hereford and Worcester (Structural, Boundary and Electoral Changes) Order 1996

PART II

BOUNDARY CHANGES

Other local government areas

- **5.**—(1) The existing principal areas of the county of Hereford and Worcester, the city of Hereford and the districts of Leominster, Malvern Hills and South Herefordshire shall be abolished and the councils of those principal areas shall be wound up and dissolved.
- (2) A new county shall be constituted comprising the area of the new district of Herefordshire and shall be named the county of Herefordshire.
- (3) Section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) shall not apply in relation to the new county of Herefordshire.