STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1996 No. 1875

The Essex (Boroughs of Colchester, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock and District of Tendring) (Structural, Boundary and Electoral Changes) Order 1996

PART II

LOCAL GOVERNMENT REORGANISATION IN SOUTHEND AND THURROCK

Constitution of new counties of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock

- **6.**—(1) Southend and Thurrock shall cease to form part of Essex.
- (2) A new county shall be constituted comprising the area of Southend and shall be named the county of Southend-on-Sea.
- (3) A new county shall be constituted comprising the area of Thurrock and shall be named the county of Thurrock.
- (4) Section 2(1) of the 1972 Act (which provides that every county shall have a council) shall not apply in relation to the counties of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock.