STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1997 No. 8

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING ENGLAND AND WALES

The Channel Tunnel Rail Link (Qualifying Authorities) Order 1997

Made - - - - 3rd January 1997 Coming into force - - 27th January 1997

The Secretary of State for Transport, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 1(1) of Schedule 6 to the Channel Tunnel Rail Link Act 1996(1) hereby makes the following Order:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Channel Tunnel Rail Link (Qualifying Authorities) Order 1997 and shall come into force on 27th January 1997.
- 2. The relevant local authorities specified in the Schedule below had, on or before the day on which the Bill for the Channel Tunnel Rail Link Act 1996 was reported from Select Committee in the House of Lords, given the Secretary of State undertakings with respect to the handling of planning matters arising under Schedule 6 to that Act which he considered satisfactory, and have not subsequently been released from their undertakings.

George Young
Secretary of State,
Department of Transport

3rd January 1997

SCHEDULE Article 2

The councils of the London boroughs of: Barking and Dagenham, Camden, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Havering, Islington, Newham, and Waltham Forest

Ashford Borough Council

Dartford Borough Council

Dover District Council

Essex County Council

Gravesham Borough Council

Kent County Council

Maidstone Borough Council

Rochester-upon-Medway City Council

Sevenoaks District Council

Shepway District Council

Thanet District Council

Thurrock Borough Council

Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the local authorities which are qualifying authorities for the purposes of Schedule 6 to the Channel Tunnel Rail Link Act 1996.