STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 3265

PROBATION

The Combined Probation Areas (Powys) Order 1998

		22nd December
Made	-	1998
Coming into force		1st January 1999

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 2 of the Probation Service Act 1993(1), and after the consultation required by that section, hereby makes the following Order:

1. This Order may be cited as the Combined Probation Areas (Powys) Order 1998 and shall come into force on 1st January 1999.

2. For that part of the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986(2) which relates to the Powys Probation Area(3) there shall be substituted the following:

(1)	(2)	(3)
Petty Sessions Area	Probation Area	Number of justices on probation committee
De Brycheiniog	Powys	3
De Maldwyn		3
Radnorshire and North Brecknock		2
Welshpool		2

3. The three members of the Powys Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1999 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Brecon and Ystradgynlais shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of De Brycheiniog(4).

^{(1) 1993} c. 47.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1986/1713, amended by S.I. 1992/2121 (which was amended by S.I. 1993/92) and 1993/716.

⁽³⁾ The part relating to Powys was amended by S.I. 1991/791 and 1993/52.

⁽⁴⁾ The new petty sessions areas of De Brycheiniog and De Maldwyn were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Powys) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2235).

4. The three members of the Powys Probation Committee appointed before 1st January 1999 by the justices for the petty sessions areas of Machynlleth and Newtown shall continue in office as if appointed by the justices for the new petty sessions area of De Maldwyn(**4**).

Home Office 22nd December 1998 Paul Boateng Minister of State

⁽⁴⁾ The new petty sessions areas of De Brycheiniog and De Maldwyn were constituted by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Powys) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2235).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends the Combined Probation Areas Order 1986 (S.I.1986/1713) to take account of the amalgamation of petty sessions areas in Powys. Brecon and Ystradgynlais are amalgamated into the new petty sessions area of De Brycheiniog. Machynlleth and Newtown are amalgamated into the new petty sessions area of De Maldwyn. The amalgamations are effected by the Petty Sessional Divisions (Powys) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2235), the relevant provisions of which come into force on 1st January 1999.