## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order transfers functions, conferred or imposed on the London Docklands Development Corporation by or under the London Docklands Development Corporation Act 1994 ("the 1994 Act"), to the councils of the London boroughs of Southwark and Tower Hamlets, the British Waterways Board, and the Royal Docks Management Authority Limited (article 3). The areas to which the transferred functions relate are shown edged with a black line and hatched on the map below.

The Order contains transitional and consequential provisions, including provisions relating to byelaws made under the Act before the date of the coming into force of this Order (article 5), and a provision restricting the exercise by a transferee of its powers under the 1994 Act, in a similar way to that in which the powers of the Corporation are restricted by section 38 of the 1994 Act (article 6).

The map referred to in this Order may be inspected during normal office hours at the following offices:

- (a) The Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2 Marsham Street, London SWIP 3EB until the end of March 1998 and then Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE;
- (b) The council of the London borough of Southwark, Council Offices, Chiltern House, Portland Street, London SE17 2ES;
- (c) The council of the London borough of Tower Hamlets, Town Hall, Mulberry Place, 5 Clove Crescent, London E14 2BG;
- (d) The British Waterways Board, Willow Grange, Church Road, Watford WD1 3QA, and
- (e) The Royal Docks Management Authority Limited, Custom House, Ring George V Lock, Woolwich Manor Way, London E16 2NJ.

