STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2000 No. 2602

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The District of Richmondshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000

Made - - - 2000

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(1), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated November 1999 on its review of the district of Richmondshire together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(2) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of Richmondshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000.
 - (2) This Order shall come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.
 - (3) In this Order—

"district" means the district of Richmondshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the District of Richmondshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2000", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(3).

^{(1) 1992} c. 19.

⁽²⁾ Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽³⁾ S.I.1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

Wards of the district of Richmondshire

- **2.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(**4**) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to parishes or, where no area is so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of that Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the parish of Hunton

3. The parish of Hunton shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Richmond

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Richmond shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Central, East and West; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the district ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be four.

Revocation

5. The District of Richmondshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Hilary Armstrong
Minister of State,
Department of the Environment, Transport and
the Regions

22nd September 2000

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

SCHEDULE 1 Article 2

(1) N CW 1	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Addlebrough	The parishes of Askrigg, Aysgarth, Bainbridge, Low Abbotside and Thornton Rust	1
Barton	The parishes of Barton, Cleasby, Newton Morrell and Stapleton	1
Bolton Castle	The parishes of Bellerby, Castle Bolton with East & West Bolton, Carperby-cum- Thoresby, Preston-under-Scar, Redmire and Wensley	1
Brompton-on-Swale and Scorton	The parishes of Bolton-on- Swale, Brompton-on-Swale, Easby, Ellerton-on-Swale, Scorton and Uckerby	2
Catterick	The parish of Catterick	2
Colburn	The parish of Colburn	3
Croft	The parishes of Croft-on-Tees, Dalton-on-Tees, Eryholme and North Cowton	1
Gilling West	The parishes of Aske, Gayles, Gilling with Hartforth & Sedbury, Kirby Hill, Ravensworth and Whashton	1
Hawes and High Abbotside	The parishes of Hawes and High Abbotside	1
Hipswell	The parishes of Hipswell and St Martin's	2
Hornby Castle		1
Leyburn	The parishes of Harmby and Leyburn	2
Lower Wensleydale	The parishes of Akebar, Barden, Constable Burton, East Hauxwell, Finghall, Garriston, Hutton Hang, Newton-le-Willows, Patrick Brompton, Spennithorne, Thornton Steward and West Hauxwell	1

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Melsonby	The parishes of Aldbrough, Cliffe, Manfield and Melsonby	1
Middleham	The parishes of Caldbergh with East Scrafton, Coverham with Agglethorpe, East Witton Out Parish, East Witton Town, Melmerby, Middleham and West Scrafton	1
Middleton Tyas	The parishes of Middleton Tyas, Moulton and Skeeby	1
Newsham with Eppleby	The parishes of Caldwell, Dalton, East Layton, Eppleby, Forcett & Carkin, Newsham, Stanwick St John and West Layton	1
Penhill	The parishes of Bishopdale, Burton-cum-Walden, Carlton Highdale, Carlton Town, Newbiggin, Thoralby and West Witton	1
Reeth and Arkengarthdale	The parishes of Arkengarthdale, Marrick, Marske, New Forest and Reeth, Fremington & Healaugh	1
Richmond Central		2
Richmond East		2
Richmond West		2
Scotton		2
Swaledale	The parishes of Downholme, Ellerton Abbey, Grinton, Hudswell, Melbecks, Muker, Stainton and Walburn	1

SCHEDULE 2 Article 3

WARDS OF THE PARISH OF HUNTONNAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name of Ward	Area of Ward	Number of Councillors
Hunton	So much of the district ward of Hornby Castle as comprises the parish of Hunton	3
The Larches	So much of the district ward of Scotton as comprises the parish of Hunton	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the district of Richmondshire. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Richmondshire and provides for the creation of twenty-four new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Articles 3 and 4 make electoral changes in the parishes of Hunton and Richmond.

Article 5 revokes the District of Richmondshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1977.

The areas of the new district wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of the Richmondshire District Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.