2001 No. 1018

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Borough of Test Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001

Made - - - - 14th March 2001

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Whereas the Local Government Commission for England, acting pursuant to section 15(4) of the Local Government Act 1992(a), has submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated July 2000 on its review of the borough(b) of Test Valley together with its recommendations:

And whereas the Secretary of State has decided to give effect to those recommendations:

Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 17(c) and 26 of the Local Government Act 1992, and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and interpretation

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Test Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001.

(2) This Order shall come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on 1st May 2003, on 10th October 2002;
- (b) for all other purposes, on 1st May 2003.

(3) In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Test Valley;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made; and

any reference to the map is a reference to the map prepared by the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions marked "Map of the Borough of Test Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 2001", and deposited in accordance with regulation 27 of the Local Government Changes for England Regulations 1994(**d**).

Wards of the borough of Test Valley

2.—(1) The existing wards of the borough(e) shall be abolished.

(2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-four wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

⁽a) 1992 c. 19.

⁽b) The non-metropolitan district of Test Valley has the status of a borough.

⁽c) Section 17 is amended by section 39(4) and (5) of the Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994 (c. 29).

⁽d) S.I. 1994/867, to which there are amendments not relevant to this Order.

⁽e) See the District of Test Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 (S.I. 1975/2108).

(3) The wards shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

(4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Romsey

3.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Romsey shall be abolished.

(2) The parish shall be divided into three parish wards which shall bear the names Abbey, Cupernham and Tadburn; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the borough ward bearing the same name; and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be five.

Parish of Chilworth: ward name

4. The existing parish ward of Valley Park of the parish of Chilworth shall be known as the parish ward of Chilworth North of that parish.

Revocation

5. The District of Test Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975 is hereby revoked.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions

14th March 2001

Beverley Hughes Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

(1) Name of Ward	(2) Area of Ward	(3) Number of Councillors
Abbey		2
Alamein		3
Ampfield and Braishfield	The parishes of Ampfield and Braishfield	1
Amport	The parishes of Amport, Grately, Monxton and Quarley	1
Anna	The parishes of Abbotts Ann, Goodworth Clatford and Upper Clatford	2
Blackwater	The parishes of Awbridge, Melchet Park and Plaitford, Sherfield English and Wellow	2
Bourne Valley	The parishes of Faccombe, Hurstbourne Tarrant, Linkenholt, Tangley and Vernhams Dean	1
Broughton and Stockbridge	The parishes of Bossington, Broughton, Chilbolton, Houghton, Leckford, Longstock, Nether Wallop and Stockbridge	2
Charlton	The parish of Charlton	1
Chilworth, Nursling and Rownhams		3
Cupernham		2
Dun Valley	The parishes of Buckholt, East Dean, East Tytherley, Frenchmoor, Lockerley, Mottisfont and West Tytherley	1
Harewood	The parishes of Barton Stacey, Bullington, Longparish and Wherwell	1
Harroway		3
Kings Somborne and Michelmersh	The parishes of Ashley, Kings Somborne, Little Somborne and Michelmersh	1
Millway		3
North Baddesley	The parish wards of Fleming and Mountbatten of North Baddesley parish	3
Over Wallop	The parish of Over Wallop	1
Penton Bellinger	The parishes of Appleshaw, Fyfield, Kimpton, Penton Grafton, Penton Mewsey, Shipton Bellinger and Thruxton	2
Romsey Extra	The parish of Romsey Extra	2
St Mary's		3
Tadburn		2
Valley Park		3
Winton		3

NAMES AND AREAS OF WARDS AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the borough of Test Valley. The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after 1st May 2003.

Article 2 abolishes the existing wards of the borough and provides for the creation of 24 new wards. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes electoral changes in the parish of Romsey.

Article 4 renames, as Chilworth North, the Valley Park parish ward of Chilworth parish.

Article 5 revokes the District of Test Valley (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1975.

The areas of the new borough wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Test Valley Borough Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions, 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.

£1.75

© Crown copyright 2001

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament

E 0279 03/01 ON (MFK)