STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2004 No. 1303

# SUPREME COURT OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

### The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004

| Made                   | 5th May 2004  |
|------------------------|---------------|
| Laid before Parliament | 11th May 2004 |
| Coming into force      | 1st June 2004 |

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 4(2) and 4(4) of the Courts Act 2003(1), makes the following Order:

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004 and shall come into force on 1st June 2004.

#### Amendments to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004

**2.** For the Schedule to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004(**2**) there shall be substituted the Schedule to this Order.

<sup>(1) 2003</sup> c. 39.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.I. 2004/1192.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

5th May 2004

Christopher Leslie Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Department of Constitutional Affairs

#### SCHEDULE

#### Table 1

#### England

| Avon and Somerset  | The county of Somerset and the non-<br>metropolitan districts of Bath and North East<br>Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset and South<br>Gloucestershire |
|--------------------|--|
| Bedfordshire       | The county of Bedfordshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Luton  |
| Cambridgeshire     | The county of Cambridgeshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Peterborough   |
| Cheshire           | The county of Cheshire and the non-<br>metropolitan districts of Halton and Warrington   |
| Cleveland          | The non-metropolitan districts of Hartlepool,<br>Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and<br>Stockton-on-Tees   |
| Cumbria            | The county of Cumbria  |
| Derbyshire         | The county of Derbyshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Derby  |
| Devon and Cornwall | The counties of Devon and Cornwall, the non-<br>metropolitan districts of Plymouth and Torbay<br>and the Isles of Scilly                               |
| Dorset             | The county of Dorset and the non-metropolitan districts of Bournemouth and Poole   |
| Durham             | The county of Durham and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Darlington   |
| Essex              | The county of Essex and the non-metropolitan districts of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock   |
| Gloucestershire    | The county of Gloucestershire  |
| Greater Manchester | The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury,<br>Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford,<br>Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan                       |
| Hampshire          | The counties of Hampshire and Isle of<br>Wight and the non-metropolitan districts of<br>Portsmouth and Southampton                                     |
| Hertfordshire      | The county of Hertfordshire  |
| Humberside         | The non-metropolitan districts of the East<br>Riding of Yorkshire, Kingston upon Hull,<br>North East Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire               |
| Kent               | The county of Kent and the non-metropolitan district of Medway   |
|                    |  |

3

Document Generated: 2023-07-05 Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

| Lancashire       | The county of Lancashire and the non-<br>metropolitan districts of Blackburn with<br>Darwen and Blackpool   |
|------------------|---|
| Leicestershire   | The county of Leicestershire and the non-<br>metropolitan districts of Leicester and Rutland  |
| Lincolnshire     | The county of Lincolnshire  |
| London           | Greater London  |
| Merseyside       | The metropolitan districts of Knowsley,<br>Liverpool, St. Helens, Sefton and Wirral   |
| Norfolk          | The county of Norfolk   |
| Northamptonshire | The county of Northamptonshire  |
| Northumbria      | The county of Northumberland and the<br>metropolitan districts of Gateshead, Newcastle<br>upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside<br>and Sunderland   |
| North Yorkshire  | The county of North Yorkshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of York   |
| Nottinghamshire  | The county of Nottinghamshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Nottingham   |
| South Yorkshire  | The metropolitan districts of Barnsley,<br>Doncaster, Rotherham and Sheffield   |
| Staffordshire    | The county of Staffordshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Stoke-on-Trent   |
| Suffolk          | The county of Suffolk   |
| Surrey           | The county of Surrey  |
| Sussex           | The counties of East Sussex and West Sussex<br>and the non-metropolitan district of Brighton<br>and Hove  |
| Thames Valley    | The counties of Buckinghamshire and<br>Oxfordshire and the non-metropolitan<br>districts of Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes<br>Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and<br>Maidenhead and Wokingham |
| Warwickshire     | The county of Warwickshire  |
| West Mercia      | The counties of Shropshire and Worcestershire<br>and the non-metropolitan districts of<br>Herefordshire and Telford and The Wrekin  |
| West Midlands    | The metropolitan districts of Birmingham,<br>Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall<br>and Wolverhampton   |
| West Yorkshire   | The metropolitan districts of Bradford,<br>Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield  |

| Wiltshire        | The county of Wiltshire and the non-<br>metropolitan district of Swindon  |
|------------------|---|
| Table 2<br>Wales |   |
|                  |   |
| Gwent            | The county of Monmouthshire and the county<br>boroughs of Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly,<br>Newport and Torfaen   |
| North Wales      | The counties of the Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd,<br>Denbighshire and Flintshire and the county<br>boroughs of Conwy and Wrexham                                     |
| South Wales      | The counties of Cardiff and Swansea and the<br>county boroughs of Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil,<br>Neath Port Talbot, Rhondda Cynon Taff and the<br>Vale of Glamorgan |

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

#### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order substitutes a new Schedule to the Courts Boards (Areas) Order 2004 (made under section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003). The new Schedule corrects the description of courts boards areas in England and Wales to reflect police areas as described in Schedule 1 to the Police Act 1996 and recent amendments to local authority areas. The Lord Chancellor is required by section 4(7) of the Courts Act 2003 to have regard to police areas when making an Order specifying courts boards areas.