2004 No. 1303

SUPREME COURT OF ENGLAND AND WALES COUNTY COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004

Made - - - - - 5th May 2004

Laid before Parliament 11th May 2004

Coming into force - - 1st June 2004

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by sections 4(2) and 4(4) of the Courts Act 2003(a), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Courts Boards Areas (Amendment) Order 2004 and shall come into force on 1st June 2004.

Amendments to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004

2. For the Schedule to the Courts Boards Areas Order 2004(**b**) there shall be substituted the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Christopher Leslie
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department of Constitutional Affairs

5th May 2004

⁽a) 2003 c. 39.

⁽b) S.I. /2004.

SCHEDULE

Table 1

England

Avon and Somerset The county of Somerset and the non-metropolitan districts of Bath

and North East Somerset, Bristol, North Somerset and South

Gloucestershire

Bedfordshire The county of Bedfordshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Luton

Cambridgeshire The county of Cambridgeshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Peterborough

Cheshire The county of Cheshire and the non-metropolitan districts of

Halton and Warrington

Cleveland The non-metropolitan districts of Hartlepool, Middlesbrough,

Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees

Cumbria The county of Cumbria

Derbyshire The county of Derbyshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Derby

Devon and Cornwall The counties of Devon and Cornwall, the non-metropolitan

districts of Plymouth and Torbay and the Isles of Scilly

Dorset The county of Dorset and the non-metropolitan districts of

Bournemouth and Poole

Durham The county of Durham and the non-metropolitan district of

Darlington

Essex The county of Essex and the non-metropolitan districts of

Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock

Gloucestershire The county of Gloucestershire

Greater Manchester The metropolitan districts of Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham,

Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan

Hampshire The counties of Hampshire and Isle of Wight and the non-

metropolitan districts of Portsmouth and Southampton

Hertfordshire The county of Hertfordshire

Humberside The non-metropolitan districts of the East Riding of Yorkshire,

Kingston upon Hull, North East Lincolnshire and North

Lincolnshire

Kent The county of Kent and the non-metropolitan district of Medway

Lancashire The county of Lancashire and the non-metropolitan districts of

Blackburn with Darwen and Blackpool

Leicestershire The county of Leicestershire and the non-metropolitan districts of

Leicester and Rutland

Lincolnshire The county of Lincolnshire

London Greater London

Merseyside The metropolitan districts of Knowsley, Liverpool, St. Helens,

Sefton and Wirral

Norfolk The county of Norfolk

Northamptonshire The county of Northamptonshire

Northumbria The county of Northumberland and the metropolitan districts of

Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside

and Sunderland

North Yorkshire The county of North Yorkshire and the non-metropolitan district

of York

Nottinghamshire The county of Nottinghamshire and the non-metropolitan district

of Nottingham

South Yorkshire The metropolitan districts of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham and

Sheffield

Staffordshire The county of Staffordshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Stoke-on-Trent

Suffolk The county of Suffolk Surrey The county of Surrey

Sussex The counties of East Sussex and West Sussex and the non-

metropolitan district of Brighton and Hove

Thames Valley The counties of Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire and the non-

metropolitan districts of Bracknell Forest, Milton Keynes Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead and

Wokingham

Warwickshire The county of Warwickshire

metropolitan districts of Herefordshire and Telford and The

Wrekin

West Midlands The metropolitan districts of Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley,

Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton

West Yorkshire The metropolitan districts of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees,

Leeds and Wakefield

Wiltshire The county of Wiltshire and the non-metropolitan district of

Swindon

Table 2

Wales

Dyfed Powys The counties of Ceredigion, Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and

Powys

Gwent The county of Monmouthshire and the county boroughs of

Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Newport and Torfaen

North Wales The counties of the Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Denbighshire and

Flintshire and the county boroughs of Conwy and Wrexham

South Wales The counties of Cardiff and Swansea and the county boroughs of

Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Neath Port Talbot, Rhondda Cynon

Taff and the Vale of Glamorgan

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order substitutes a new Schedule to the Courts Boards (Areas) Order 2004 (made under section 4(2) of the Courts Act 2003). The new Schedule corrects the description of courts boards areas in England and Wales to reflect police areas as described in Schedule 1 to the Police Act 1996 and recent amendments to local authority areas. The Lord Chancellor is required by section 4(7) of the Courts Act 2003 to have regard to police areas when making an Order specifying courts boards areas.

£3.00

© Crown copyright 2004

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. E0697 5/2004 140697 19585

