2004 No. 3336

DESIGNS

The Designs (Convention Countries) Order 2004

Made - - - -Coming into force - - 16th December 2004 31st January 2005

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 16th day of December 2004

Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by sections 13(1) and 37(5) of the Registered Designs Act $1949(\mathbf{a})$, is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to order, and it is hereby ordered as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Designs (Convention Countries) Order 2004 and shall come into force on 31st January 2005.

2. The countries specified in Schedule 1 are declared to be convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.

3. The Orders set out in Schedule 2 are hereby revoked.

A K Galloway Clerk to the Privy Council

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

CONVENTION COUNTRIES

Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Central African Republic Chad Chile China Columbia Congo Congo, Democratic Republic of the Costa Rica Cote d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Estonia Faeroe Islands Fiji Finland France (including Overseas Departments and Territories) Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Holy See Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Israel Italy

Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles and Aruba New Zealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau) Nicaragua Niger Nigeria

Norway Oman Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Qatar Romania **Russian Federation** Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Togo Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United States of America (including Puerto Rico and all territories and possessions) Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela Viet Nam Zambia Zimbabwe

SCHEDULE 2

REVOCATIONS

Designs (Convention Countries) Order 1994(a)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 1995(b)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 2000(c)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2000(d)

Designs (Convention Countries) (Amendment) Order 2001(e)

(e) SI 2001/2125.

⁽a) SI 1994/3219.
(b) SI 1995/2988.
(c) SI 2000/1115.

⁽d) SI 2000/1561.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, pursuant to section 13(1) of the Registered Designs Act 1949, declares the countries specified in Schedule 1 to be convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949. In this Order the term "country" includes colonies, protectorates and territories by reason of section 13(3) of that Act.

The majority of the countries specified in the Order have acceded to the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property ("the Paris Convention") (as revised at Stockholm in 1967) (Cmnd. 4431) or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organisation (including the Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) (Cm. 2556-59, 2561-69, 2571-74).

With the exception of Andorra, Angola, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro and the Seychelles all of the specified countries have already been declared to be convention countries by the Designs (Convention Countries) Order 1994 (SI 1994/3219) (as amended by the other four instruments listed in Schedule 2). This Order revokes all those earlier Orders and provides a consolidated list of countries that are convention countries for the purposes of all the provisions of the Registered Designs Act 1949.

£3.00

© Crown copyright 2004

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. E1753 12/2004 141753T 19585

