STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 176

The County of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005

Divisions of the county of Durham

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(1) shall be abolished.
- (2) The county shall be divided into sixty-three electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to wards, parishes, or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be one.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

⁽¹⁾ See the County of Durham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981 (S.I. 1981/190). The area of the county of Durham was altered by the Cleveland and Durham (Areas) Order 1982 (S.I. 1982/1658), the Cleveland and Durham (County Boundaries) Order 1988 (S.I. 1988/2180), the Durham and North Yorkshire (County Boundaries) Order 1991 (S.I. 1991/287), the Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear (County and District Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/3050), the Durham and Tyne and Wear (County and District Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/3054) and the Durham (Borough of Darlington) (Structural Change) Order 1995 (S.I. 1995/1772).