STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 554

MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Local Justice Areas Order 2005

Made - - - - 8th March 2005
Laid before Parliament 9th March 2005
Coming into force - - 1st April 2005

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 8 of the Courts Act 2003(1), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Justice Areas Order 2005 and shall come into force on 1st April 2005.

Local Justice Areas

2. The local justice areas into which England and Wales is divided are specified in the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Christopher Leslie
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Constitutional Affairs

8th March 2005

SCHEDULE Article 2

Local Justice Areas in England & Wales

Ashby-de-la-Zouch
Barking and Dagenham

Barnet

Alnwick

Barnsley District

Bath and Wansdyke

Batley and Dewsbury

Bedford and Mid Bedfordshire

Berwick-upon-Tweed

Beverley and the Wolds

Bexley

Birmingham

Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley

Bolton

Boston

Bourne and Stamford

Bradford

Brent

Bridlington

Bristol

Bromley

Bromsgrove and Redditch

Burnley, Pendle and Rossendale

Bury

Calderdale

Cambridge

Camden and Islington

Cardiff

Carlisle and District

Carmarthen

Central and South West Staffordshire

Central Buckinghamshire

Central Devon
Central Hertfordshire
Central Kent
Central Norfolk
Ceredigion
Chester, Ellesmere Port and Neston
Chorley
City of London
City of Salford
City of Westminster
Conwy
Corby
Coventry District
Croydon
Cynon Valley
Daventry
De Brychieniog
De Maldwyn
Denbighshire
Dinefwr
Doncaster
Drayton
Dudley
Ealing
East Berkshire
East Cambridgeshire
East Cornwall
East Dorset
East Hertfordshire
East Kent
Eden
Elloes
Enfield
Fenland
Flintshire

Furness and District
Fylde Coast
Gainsborough
Gateshead District
Gloucestershire
Goole and Howdenshire
Grantham
Great Yarmouth
Greenwich and Lewisham
Grimsby and Cleethorpes
Gwynedd
Hackney and Tower Hamlets
Halton
Hammersmith and Fulham and Kensington and Chelsea
Haringey
Harrogate
Harrow Gore
Hartlepool
Havering
Herefordshire
High Peak
Hillingdon
Houghton-le-Spring
Hounslow
Huddersfield
Hull and Holderness
Huntingdonshire
Hyndburn
Isle of Wight
Keighley
Kettering
Kidderminster
Kingston-upon-Thames
Knowsley
Lambeth and Southwark

Lancaster

Leicester

Liverpool

Langbaurgh East Leeds District

Lincoln District

Llanelli
Loughborough
Luton and South Bedfordshire
Macclesfield
Manchester City
Mansfield
Market Bosworth
Market Harborough and Lutterworth
Melton, Belvoir and Rutland
Mendip
Merthyr Tydfil
Merton
Mid-North Essex
Mid-South Essex
Milton Keynes
Miskin
Neath Port Talbot
New Forest
Newark and Southwell
Newcastle-upon-Tyne District
Newcastle and Ogmore
Newham
North East Essex
North West Essex
North Avon
North Devon
North Durham
North East Derbyshire and Dales
North East Hampshire

North Norfolk North Pembrokeshire North Sefton District North Somerset North Staffordshire North Surrey North Tyneside District North West Gwent North West Hampshire North West Surrey North West Wiltshire Northallerton and Richmond Northampton Northern Oxfordshire Norwich Nottingham Oldham Ormskirk Oswestry Oxford Peterborough Plymouth District Pontefract Preston Radnorshire and North Brecknock Reading Redbridge Richmond-upon-Thames Rochdale, Middleton and Heywood Rotherham

Scarborough

North East Suffolk North Hertfordshire

North Lincolnshire

North Kent

Sedgemoor

Selby
Sheffield
Shrewsbury
Skegness
Skipton
Sleaford
Solihull

South East Essex
South West Essex
South Cheshire
South Devon
South Durham
South East Gwent
South East Hampshire
South East Northumberland
South East Staffordshire
South East Suffolk
South East Surrey
South East Wiltshire
South Hampshire
South Lakeland
South Norfolk
South Pembrokeshire
South Ribble
South Sefton District
South Shropshire
South Somerset
South Tyneside District
South West Surrey
South Worcestershire
Southampton
Southern Derbyshire
Southern Oxfordshire
St Helens

Stockport

Sunderland

Sussex (Central) Sussex (Eastern) Sussex (Northern) Sussex (Western)

Stourbridge and Halesowen

Sutton
Sutton Coldfield
Swansea County
Swindon
Tameside
Taunton Deane and West Somerset
Teesside
Telford and Bridgnorth
Towcester
Trafford
Tynesdale
Vale of Glamorgan
Vale Royal
Wakefield
Walsall and Aldridge
Waltham Forest
Wandsworth
Warley
Warrington
Warwickshire
Wellingborough
Welshpool
West Allerdale and Keswick
West Berkshire
West Bromwich
West Cornwall
West Dorset
West Hertfordshire

		_		
West	NI	~	` 1	1.
WEST	IN	()[[(1)	к

West Suffolk

Whitehaven

Wigan and Leigh

Wirral

Wolds

Wolverhampton

Worksop and Retford

Wrexham Maelor

Wycombe and Beaconsfield

Ynys Mòn/Anglesey

York

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the local justice areas into which England and Wales is divided under section 8 of the Courts Act 2003. The Act requires the first Order under section 8 to specify as local justice areas the areas which were petty sessions areas before 1st April 2005.

Maps showing the local justice areas are available for inspection at any reasonable time at the Department for Constitutional Affairs, Selborne House, 54-60 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6QW.