STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 554

MAGISTRATES' COURTS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Local Justice Areas Order 2005

Made - - - - 8th March 2005

Laid before Parliament 9th March 2005

Coming into force - - 1st April 2005

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 8 of the Courts Act 2003(a), makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Justice Areas Order 2005 and shall come into force on 1st April 2005.

Local Justice Areas

2. The local justice areas into which England and Wales is divided are specified in the Schedule to this Order.

Signed by authority of the Lord Chancellor

Christopher Leslie
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department for Constitutional Affairs

8th March 2005

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Local Justice Areas in England & Wales

Alnwick Berwick-upon-Tweed Ashby-de-la-Zouch Beverley and the Wolds

Barking and Dagenham Bexley
Barnet Birmingham

Barnsley District Blackburn, Darwen and Ribble Valley

Bath and Wansdyke Bolton Batley and Dewsbury Boston

Bedford and Mid Bedfordshire Bourne and Stamford

Bradford Gainsborough
Brent Gateshead District
Bridlington Gloucestershire

Bristol Goole and Howdenshire

Bromley Grantham
Bromsgrove and Redditch Great Yarmouth

Burnley, Pendle and Rossendale Greenwich and Lewisham
Bury Grimsby and Cleethorpes

Calderdale Gwynedd

Cambridge Hackney and Tower Hamlets

Camden and Islington Halton

Cardiff Hammersmith and Fulham and Kensington and

Carlisle and District Chelsea Haringey Carmarthen Central and South West Staffordshire Harrogate Harrow Gore Central Buckinghamshire Hartlepool Central Devon Central Hertfordshire Havering Herefordshire Central Kent High Peak Central Norfolk Hillingdon Ceredigion

Chester, Ellesmere Port and Neston Houghton-le-Spring

Hounslow Chorley City of London Huddersfield Hull and Holderness City of Salford City of Westminster Huntingdonshire Hyndburn Conwy Isle of Wight Corby Keighley **Coventry District** Kettering Croydon Kidderminster Cynon Valley

Daventry Kingston-upon-Thames

De Brychieniog Knowsley

De Maldwyn Lambeth and Southwark

Denbighshire
Dinefwr
Lancaster
Dinefwr
Langbaurgh East
Doncaster
Leeds District
Drayton
Leicester
Dudley
Lincoln District
Ealing
Liverpool
East Berkshire
Llanelli
East Cambridgeshire
Loughborough

East Cambridgeshire Loughborough
East Cornwall Luton and South Bedfordshire

East Dorset Macclesfield
East Hertfordshire Manchester City
East Kent Mansfield
Eden Market Bosworth

Elloes Market Harborough and Lutterworth

Enfield Melton, Belvoir and Rutland

Fenland Mendip

Flintshire Merthyr Tydfil

Furness and District Merton

Fylde Coast Mid-North Essex

Mid-South EssexSheffieldMilton KeynesShrewsburyMiskinSkegnessNeath Port TalbotSkiptonNew ForestSleafordNewark and SouthwellSolihull

Newcastle-upon-Tyne District South East Essex Newcastle and Ogmore South West Essex Newham South Cheshire North East Essex South Devon North West Essex South Durham North Avon South East Gwent North Devon South East Hampshire North Durham South East Northumberland

North East Derbyshire and Dales South East Staffordshire North East Hampshire South East Suffolk North East Suffolk South East Surrey South East Wiltshire North Hertfordshire South Hampshire North Kent South Lakeland North Lincolnshire South Norfolk North Norfolk North Pembrokeshire South Pembrokeshire

North Sefton District South Ribble

North SomersetSouth Sefton DistrictNorth StaffordshireSouth ShropshireNorth SurreySouth Somerset

North Tyneside District
North West Gwent
South West Surrey
North West Hampshire
South Worcestershire

North West Surrey Southampton

North West Wiltshire Southern Derbyshire
Northallerton and Richmond Southern Oxfordshire

Northampton St Helens Northern Oxfordshire Stockport

Norwich Stourbridge and Halesowen

Nottingham Sunderland
Oldham Sussex (Central)
Ormskirk Sussex (Eastern)
Oswestry Sussex (Northern)
Oxford Sussex (Western)

Peterborough Sutton

Plymouth District Sutton Coldfield Pontefract Swansea County

Preston Swindon
Radnorshire and North Brecknock Tameside

Reading Taunton Deane and West Somerset

Redbridge Teesside

Richmond-upon-Thames Telford and Bridgnorth

Rochdale, Middleton and Heywood Towcester
Rotherham Trafford
Scarborough Tynesdale

Sedgemoor Vale of Glamorgan

Selby Vale Royal

Wakefield West Hertfordshire
Walsall and Aldridge West Norfolk
Waltham Forest West Suffolk
Wandsworth Whitehaven
Warley Wigan and Leigh

Warrington Wirral Warwickshire Wolds

Wellingborough Wolverhampton
Welshpool Worksop and Retford
West Allerdale and Keswick Wrexham Maelor

West Berkshire Wycombe and Beaconsfield
West Bromwich Ynys Mòn/Anglesey

West Cornwall York

West Dorset

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies the local justice areas into which England and Wales is divided under section 8 of the Courts Act 2003. The Act requires the first Order under section 8 to specify as local justice areas the areas which were petty sessions areas before 1st April 2005.

Maps showing the local justice areas are available for inspection at any reasonable time at the Department for Constitutional Affairs, Selborne House, 54-60 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6QW.

£3.00

© Crown copyright 2005

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

E0393 3/2005 150393T 19585

