STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2007 No. 276

PATENTS

The Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2007

Made - - - - 7th February 2007

Laid before Parliament 14th February 2007

Coming into force - - 6th April 2007

At the Court at Buckingham Palace the 7th day of February 2007

Present.

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Her Majesty by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, in exercise of the powers conferred upon Her by sections 90(1) and 124(3) of the Patents Act 1977(a), makes the following Order:

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2007 and shall come into force on 6th April 2007.
 - (2) The Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2006 is revoked (b).
- 2.—(1) The countries specified in the Schedule are declared to be convention countries for the purposes of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977.

Christine Cook
Deputy Clerk of the Privy Council

SCHEDULE

Article 2

CONVENTION COUNTRIES

Albania

Algeria

Canada

Andorra	
Angola	
Antigua and Barbuda	
Argentina	
Armenia	
Australia	
Austria	
Azerbaijan	
Bahamas	
Bahrain	
Bangladesh	
Barbados	
Belarus	
Belgium	
Belize	
Benin	
Bhutan	
Bolivia	
Bosnia and Herzegovina	
Botswana	
Brazil	
Brunei Darussalam	
Bulgaria	
Burkina Faso	
Burundi	
Cambodia	
Cameroon	

Chad
Chile
China
Columbia
Comoros
Congo
Congo, Democratic Republic of the
Costa Rica
Cote d'Ivoire
Croatia
Cuba
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Djibouti
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Ecuador
Egypt
El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea
Estonia
Faeroe Islands
Fiji
Finland
France (including Overseas Departments and Territories)
Gabon
Gambia
Georgia
Germany
Ghana
Greece
Grenada
Guatemala

Central African Republic

Macao

Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of		
Madagascar		
Malawi		
Malaysia		
Maldives		
Mali		
Malta		
Mauritania		
Mauritius		
Mexico		
Moldova, Republic of		
Monaco		
Mongolia		
Montenegro		
Morocco		
Mozambique		
Myanmar		
Namibia		
Nepal		
Netherlands		
Netherlands Antilles and Aruba		
New Zealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue and To	okelau)	
Nicaragua		
Niger		
Nigeria		
Norway		
Oman		
Pakistan		
Panama		
Papua New Guinea		
Paraguay		
Peru		
Philippines		
Poland		
Portugal		

Qatar	
Romania	
Russian Federation	
Rwanda	
Saint Kitts and Nevis	
Saint Lucia	
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	
San Marino	
Sao Tome and Principe	
Saudi Arabia	
Senegal	
Serbia	
Seychelles	
Sierra Leone	
Singapore	
Slovakia	
Slovenia	
Solomon Islands	
South Africa	
Spain	
Sri Lanka	
Sudan	
Suriname	
Swaziland	
Sweden	
Switzerland	
Syrian Arab Republic	
Taiwan	
Tajikistan	
Tanzania, United Republic of	
Thailand	
Togo	
Tonga	
Trinidad and Tobago	
Tunisia	

Turkey
Turkmenistan
Uganda
Ukraine
United Arab Emirates
United States of America (including Puerto Rico and all territories and possessions
Uruguay
Uzbekistan
Venezuela
Viet Nam
Yemen
Zambia
Zimbabwe

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order, pursuant to section 90(1) of the Patents Act 1977 (c.37), declares the countries specified in the Schedule to be convention countries for the purpose of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977. Section 5 of that Act affords certain rights of priority to applicants for patents, and this Order provides those rights of priority to applications filed in the countries specified in this Order. In this Order the term 'country' includes colonies, protectorates and territories by reason of section 90(3) of that Act.

The majority of the countries specified in the Order have acceded to the International Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property ("the Paris Convention") (as revised at Stockholm in 1967) (Cmnd. 4431) or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organisation (including the Agreement on Trade Related aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) (Cm 3044-6, 3080, 3263-4, 3268-9, 3271, 3275-7 and 3282).

This Order revokes the Patents (Convention Countries) Order 2006 (SI 2006/315) ("the 2006 Order"). This Order provides a consolidated list of countries that are convention countries for the purposes of section 5 of the Patents Act 1977 and the only substantive change from the 2006 Order is the addition of Yemen to the Schedule. Following Montenegro's Declaration of Independence from Serbia adopted by the National Assembly of Montenegro on 3rd June 2006, Serbia and Montenegro are dealt with separately in this Order.