STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2008 No. 1327

# **BETTING, GAMING AND LOTTERIES**

The Gambling (Geographical Distribution of Large and Small Casino Premises Licences) Order 2008

Made - - - - 19th May 2008

Coming into force in accordance with article 1

The Secretary of State makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 175(4) and 355 of the Gambling Act 2005(1).

In accordance with section 175(4) of that Act the Secretary of State has consulted the Scottish Ministers and the Welsh Ministers(2).

In accordance with section 355(6) of that Act a draft of this Order was laid before and approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament.

## Citation and commencement

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Gambling (Geographical Distribution of Large and Small Casino Premises Licences) Order 2008 and shall come into force on the day after the day on which it is made.

### Licensing authorities who may issue large casino premises licences

2.—(1) The following licensing authorities may issue large casino premises licences—

- (a) Great Yarmouth Borough Council,
- (b) Kingston upon Hull City Council,
- (c) Leeds City Council,
- (d) Middlesbrough Borough Council,
- (e) Milton Keynes Borough Council,
- (f) Newham London Borough Council,
- (g) Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council, and

<sup>(</sup>**1**) 2005 c. 19.

<sup>(2)</sup> The function of the National Assembly for Wales in section 175(4) of the Gambling Act 2005 was transferred to the Welsh Ministers by paragraph 30 of Schedule 11 to the Government of Wales Act 2006 (2006 c.32). Under paragraph 32 of Schedule 11 to the Government of Wales Act 2006, the reference to the National Assembly for Wales in section 175(4) is to be construed as being a reference to the Welsh Ministers.

- (h) Southampton City Council.
- (2) No more than one such licence issued by each licensing authority may have effect at any time.

#### Licensing authorities who may issue small casino premises licences

- 3.—(1) The following licensing authorities may issue small casino premises licences—
  - (a) Bath and North East Somerset District Council,
  - (b) East Lindsey District Council,
  - (c) Luton Borough Council,
  - (d) Scarborough Borough Council,
  - (e) Swansea City and County Council,
  - (f) Torbay Borough Council,
  - (g) Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board in the area of Dumfries and Galloway Council, and
  - (h) Wolverhampton City Council.
- (2) No more than one such licence issued by each licensing authority may have effect at any time.

19th May 2008

Andy Burnham Secretary of State Department for Culture, Media and Sport

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order specifies which licensing authorities may issue large and small casino premises licences.

Article 2 provides for the licensing authorities named in that article to issue large casino premises licences. The article also provides that only one such licence issued by each licensing authority may have effect at any time.

Article 3 provides for the licensing authorities named in that article to issue small casino premises licences. The article also provides that only one such licence issued by each licensing authority may have effect at any time.