EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Milton Keynes following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2014.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Milton Keynes and replaces them with 19 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 makes provision for a whole district council election in 2014. Thereafter, the council will revert to the existing system of election by thirds. That article also provides for the order of retirement of councillors at elections to be held in 2015 and 2016.

Articles 5 to 13 replace the existing wards of the parishes of Bletchley & Fenny Stratford, Bradwell, Campbell Park, Great Linford, Newport Pagnell, Shenley Brook End & Tattenhoe, Shenley Church End, Stantonbury and West Bletchley respectively. Those articles, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors for each of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at [insert link]. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Milton Keynes Borough Council, [insert address] and at the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-78 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.