STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2024 No. 232

The East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2024

PART 1

General

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) These Regulations may be cited as the East Midlands Combined County Authority Regulations 2024.
- (2) Save as provided in paragraph (3) these Regulations come into force on the day after the day on which they are made.
 - (3) Part 8 of these Regulations comes into force on 7th May 2024.

Interpretation

2. In these Regulations—

```
"the 1980 Act" means the Highways Act 1980(1);
```

"the 1985 Act" means the Housing Act 1985(2);

"the 1989 Act" means the Local Government and Housing Act 1989(3);

"the 1990 Act" means the Town and Country Planning Act 1990(4);

"the 1999 Act" means the Greater London Authority Act 1999(5);

"the 2000 Act" means the Transport Act 2000(6);

"the 2003 Act" means the Local Government Act 2003(7);

"the 2004 Act" means the Traffic Management Act 2004(8);

"the 2006 Act" means the National Health Service Act 2006(9);

"the 2008 Act" means the Housing and Regeneration Act 2008(10);

"the 2011 Act" means the Localism Act 2011(11);

^{(1) 1980} c. 66.

^{(2) 1985} c. 68.

^{(3) 1989} c. 42.

^{(4) 1990} c. 8.

^{(5) 1999} c. 29. (6) 2000 c. 38.

^{(7) 2003} c. 26.

^{(8) 2004} c. 18.

^{(9) 2006} c. 41. (10) 2008 c. 17.

^{(11) 2011} c. 20.

"the 2023 Act" means the Levelling-up and Regeneration Act 2023(12);

"the Area" means the area consisting of the areas of the constituent councils;

"the BRS Act" means the Business Rate Supplements Act 2009(13);

"the Combined County Authority" means the East Midlands Combined County Authority as constituted by regulation 3;

"Corporation" means a corporation established by the Secretary of State in accordance with the provisions in section 198 of the 2011 Act, as modified by Schedule 3, following the designation of an area of land by the Combined County Authority;

"constituent councils" means the councils for the local government areas of Derby City, Derbyshire, Nottingham and Nottinghamshire;

"district councils" means the councils for the local government areas of Amber Valley, Ashfield, Bassetlaw, Bolsover, Broxtowe, Chesterfield, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, Gedling, High Peak, Mansfield, Newark and Sherwood, North East Derbyshire, Rushcliffe and South Derbyshire;

"election for the return of the mayor" means an election held pursuant to regulation 5 of these Regulations;

"highway authority" and "local highway authority" have the same meaning as in sections 1 to 3 and 329(1) of the 1980 Act(14);

"the ordinary day of election", in relation to any year means the day which is the ordinary day of election in that year of councillors for counties in England and districts as determined in accordance with section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(15);

"Mayor" means the mayor for the Area, except in the term "Mayor of London"; and

"the transition period" means the period beginning with the day on which this regulation comes into force and ending with 31st March 2026.

^{(12) 2023} c. 55.

^{(13) 2009} c. 7.

⁽¹⁴⁾ Section 1 was amended by the Local Government Act 1985 (c. 51), paragraph 1 of Schedule 4 and Schedule 17, the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991 (c. 22), section 21(2), the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19), paragraph 1(2) and (3) of Schedule 7, the Greater London Authority Act 1999, section 259(1) to (3) and the Infrastructure Act 2015 (c. 7), paragraph 2 of Schedule 7. Section 2 was amended by the New Roads and Street Works Act 1991, section 21(3), the Greater London Authority Act 1999, section 259(4) and (5) and the Infrastructure Act 2015, paragraph 3 of Schedule 7. Section 3 was amended by the Infrastructure Act 2015, paragraph 60(2) of Schedule 1. There are other amendments to section 329 that are not relevant to these Regulations.

^{(15) 1983} c. 2. Section 37 was amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4) and by S.I. 2018/1310.