EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review electoral arrangements as soon as practicable after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of September 1998 for the County of Gwynedd.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority will remain the same.

There is no change to the divisions of Aberdaron, Aberdovey, Abererch, Abersoch, Bala, Bethel, Bontnewydd, Botwnnog, Bowydd and Rhiw, Cadnant, Clynnog, Corris/Mawddwy, Criccieth, Deiniol, Deiniolen, Dewi, Dyffryn Ardudwy, Efail-newydd/Buan, Garth, Glyder, Harlech, Hendre, Hirael, Llanaelhaearn, Llanbedr, Llanbedrog, Llanberis, Llandderfel, Llanengan, Llanuwchllyn, Llanwnda, Marchog, Menai (Bangor), Nefyn, Ogwen, Peblig (Caernarfon), Penygroes, Pwllheli North, Pwllheli South, Seiont, Trawsfynydd, Tudweiliog, Tywyn, Waunfawr, Y Felinheli.

However the following new electoral divisions are to be created:

Abermaw to comprise of the Community of Barmouth and be represented by one councillor. **Arllechwedd** to comprise of the Communities of Aber and Llanllechid and the Llandygai ward of the Community of Llandygai and represented by one councillor.

Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/ Llanelltyd to comprise of the Communities of Brithdir and Llanfachreth, Ganllwyd and Llanelltyd and be represented by one councillor.

Bryn-crug/Llanfihangel to comprise of the Communities of Bryn-crug and Llanfihangel-y-Pennant and be represented by one councillor.

Cwm-y-Glo to comprise of the Communities of Ceunant and Cwm-y-Glo wards of the community of Llanrug, represented by one councillor.

Diffwys and Maenofferen division to comprise of the Diffwys and Maenofferen ward of the Community of Ffestiniog and be represented by one councillor.

Dolbenmaen to comprise of the Bryncir, Garn, Golan, Penmorfa and Treflys wards of the Community of Dolbenmaen and represented by one councillor.

Dolgellau North to comprise of the Northern and Rural wards of the Community of Dolgellau and represented by one councillor.

Dolgellau South to comprise of the Southern ward of the Community of Dolgellau and represented by one councillor.

Groeslon to comprise of the Dinas Dinlle and Groeslon wards of the Community of Llandwrog and represented by one councillor.

Llanystumdwy to comprise of the Community of Llanystumdwy and be represented by one councillor.

Morfa Nefyn to comprise of the Edern and Morfa Nefyn wards of the Community of Nefyn and represented by one councillor.

Teigl to comprise of the Conglywal and Cynfal and Teigl wards of the Community of Ffestiniog and represented by one councillor.

Tregarth and Mynydd Llandygai to comprise of the St. Ann's and Tregarth wards of the Community of Llandygai and represented by one councillor.

The composition of the following existing divisions will change:

Gerlan to comprise of the Gerlan and Rachub wards of the Community of Bethesda and represented by one councillor.

Llangelynin to comprise of the Communities of Arthog, Llanegryn and Llangelynnin and be represented by one councillor.

Llanllyfni to comprise of the Llanllyfni, Nantlle and Nebo wards of the Community of Llanllyfni and be represented by one councillor.

Penisarwaun to comprise of the Brynrefail, Penisarwaun and Rhiwlas wards of the Community of Llanddeiniolen and be represented by one councillor.

Porthmadog East to comprise of the East and Ynys Galch wards of the Community of Porthmadog and be represented by one councillor.

Porthmadog West to comprise of the Gest, Morfa Bychan and West wards of the Community of Porthmadog and be represented by one councillor.

Porthmadog-Tremadog to comprise of the Community of Beddgelert, the Prenteg ward of the Community of Dolbenmaen and the Tremadog ward of the Community of Porthmadog and be represented by one councillor.

Talysarn to comprise of the Carmel and Cesarea wards of the Community of Llandwrog and the Talysarn ward of the Community of Llanllyfni and be represented by one councillor.

There is also a change in the number of councillors for the following divisions:

Llanrug representation reduced from two to one councillor.

Menai (Caernarfon) representation reduced from two to one councillor.

Penrhyndeudraeth representation reduced from two to one councillor.

Pentir representation to be reduced from two to one councillor.